On my way


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Changi
April 27th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Changi airport.

I have a few hours to kill, so I thought I would take the airport up on its offer of free wireless internet. Signing up wasn't as simple as it could be, but I got there eventually.

Flight here went smoothly. Had a good seat with an empty seat between me and the other passenger.

In-flight entertainment is super on Singapore Airlines. When I wasn't reading my book (The Chronicles of the Black Company by Glen Cook - good stuff!) I watched a couple of movies. The great thing about the movies is they are on demand and there are 80 to choose from (new and old movies, plus some chinese and bollywood movies that I could not say whether they are old or new). There's also audio and tv shows. None of this waiting for the entertainment system to reset bollocks!

The two movies I watched were I Am Legend and The Warlords. I Am Legend was pretty ordinary, as I expected, but is good airplane viewing. The Warlords is a chinese film, but thankfully there are english subtitles. It was a pretty good film, all in all, and it's nice to see a film that doesn't have black+white, good vs evil stuff. At the end of the film, the 3 brothers have all fallen out and come to blows, but I'd be hard pressed to say who was in the wrong - they all were, but they were also all justified. Good stuff.

It's currently 1:20am Sydney time, so I'm pretty ready for a sleep. I still have 40 minutes until my plane boards though, so I'll keep surfing the net for a while. This is the part of travelling that gets forgotten, I find - the waiting.

Next post should be from Greece.

Advertisement



28th April 2008

just checking
Hi David Glad to hear you survived the first leg. Have just sent your blog address to Jen so she may send you an email. Connor says have a good holiday, great to have seen you off yesterday. love mum
3rd May 2008

Good stuff!
Thanks for the travelogue - I love it! Looks as if you are having great weather and will no doubt have well developed leg muscles by the time you get home. Keep up the communication - I look forward to more. Dad

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb