A blessing in disguise


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bukit Batok
December 7th 2008
Published: December 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Friends...

3RD NOV- On the planes

For about 2 years Ive contemplated, wondered and prayed about this trip. Though Ive ventured through many, this particular one is special. It's going to be personal and my heart is vulnerable to discover what God has in store for me.

With every thought of what is to come, I have to hold back the tears. This is my mother's land (Cambodia)- one that she grew up and suffered in. Sometimes I wonder if she even misses this place. Though I will stare out the window through many more take off, I know this one will change my life.

It's the beginning of a deeper understanding- much needed to discover my roots and to be broken for a people of my own. I pray that God will anoint my tongue and through me, He will draw all men unto himself. All glory be to God.





7TH NOV- Last day in Singapore

4 days ago I hopped onto Emirates to travel to a country I never thought I'd visit anytime soon. As a result of the Bangkok airport closure, I was re-routed to Singapore- The Garden City...a fusion of Chinese, Indians, Malay...a population of 4.9 million all cramped into a city the size of Lake Taupo!

Instead of getting disappointed about the last minute rescheduled plans..I decided to open my heart wide open to what God has in store for me for this journey- "Though a man plans his course, God directs the path."

Getting re-routed to Singapore is actually a major blessing in disguise. I was upgraded to Business Class on my way here, Pastor John hooked me up with a lovely Indonesian couple who have blessed me so much with their hospitaility, love, kindness, conversations and theyre taking great care of me..its amazing how God can bond church family together in a matter of days....I hung out with P. Neli and Naz the other day which was special and visited our Singapore church this morning.

Highlights in Singapore:
The food! Mmmm asian food
Seeing Neli, Tini and Baby Naz
Meeting Robert and Evy
Visiting IKEA (Swedish design store)
Red Dot Design Museum
Walking down Orchard Rd (major shopping district lit with amazing Christmas lights and decorations)

Tonight I'll be catching the overnight bus (9 hours) to Penang to stay with P. John and Cindy. Very exciting! Off to pack my backpack now and to enjoy my last moment here in Singapore. Hope ya'll are keeping well lah...here's some photos for all you visuals....


xxx Lisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th December 2008

Hey Girlie.....
Hi Lisa, I miss you and knowing you are not here! BUT--I am so glad you are there!! Enjoy and take in every sight, smell and see the imprint of our God on all that is around you (that sounds so much like Rob Bell!!--scary-lol) We are praying for protection and provision. If you need anything at all, give us a holler. Love you. MammaD
7th December 2008

you cured my monday-itus
Hey Liza pizza! First thing monday morning and i get to be greeted by your travelblog entry in my inbox! yay! I'm glad the beginning of this life journey is panning out well for you, especially with the last minute change of plans, with thailand and all. How what the red dot museum? cool designs? it was closed for a private function the one day i went there :-/ take care, keep in touch, w.love jadE :)xo
7th December 2008

Shot Lah!
shot sis! that's the way to go!! Allow God to take you on a great journey!! It's a way better trip when God takes the lead huh:) Good to hear your heart sis! Let's see what else God has instored for you! FUN!!:) Much Ofa! Sci:)
8th December 2008

p.s looks like you have the photo 'cheese' pose down-pat already
8th December 2008

awwh comments :)
Thanks for the prayers Mamma D/ Rob Bell..lol JadE..happy to have cured your Monday-itus..one thing I do not miss.. :P...Design Musuem was very cool!!! Thought of you and Timu as I savoured every concept in there :) They also had the Market of Artists and Designers too (grassroot artists exhibiting/ selling their craft...like aotea markets)- I should have bought some bags over..lol xxx
10th December 2008

Ohh Badd!
Mean Sis. Sounds like you're having heaps of fun... Red Dot Design Museum? What was their angle? John emailed me and said you were visiting... Mean outdoor gym! Bring me back something please? Churr bo.
11th December 2008

You Rock Mi Amiga
I don't know why it took me this long to read your blog after I begged for you to put one up of your trip! I'm so happy to hear that God has been leading you on deep and awesome journey these past few weeks!! love you much :) keep the blog entries coming!
11th December 2008

COOL
Hey lisa, hope its mighty fine over there! wow you get to sleep in a cool little pink bed haha. Have a gud 1.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb