River Walk


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Boat Quay
September 16th 2013
Published: October 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Another day of no checking out. I was beginning to think I was never going to leave. However, over breakfast, Hayley and I discussed what I could do today (as herself and Dani were leaving to head for Bali). Looking at the posters, we both decide that the river walk was a good idea as I had not been down the river yet.

Starting at Clarke Quay, a picturesque row of colourful buildings which I believe were bars on one side of the river and a shopping mall on the other. It was another lovely day for strolling. Next was Boat Quay where there were bars and restaurants. Walking more south of the river to Merlion Park (the statue resembling the head of a lion and the body of a fish) fronting Marina Bay (and in front of the Fullerton Hotel, which I'm sure costs an arm and a leg to stay at). The forth part of the walk was Marina Bay Sands itself which I had already seen but finished the walk off nicely. I popped into the Esplanade - Theatres on the Bay, a silver coloured dome performing arts theatre house to see if there was any dance on. Unfortunately none! After seeing a larger than life poster promoting '10 days of dance' but in October - I was gutted.

Sun still shining, I walked round the Bay to The Gardens by the Bay post food in the Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands. The tree performance (OCBC Garden Rhapsody "Trees of Life") was on at 7pm so I carried on walking round until then. A bunch of mechanical trees standing at Supertree Grove that combine music and light to create a 10 minute performance.

A few things to finish my night off. Wonder Full...again, a white chocolate mocca frappuccino and a KFC on the way home! Another great day in Singapore.

One more thing...

I get back into the hostel, log onto the Internet and I have a facebook message from Dani saying that they were up on the rooftop as they were not allowed to board plane to Bali!!!!????

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb