What the Philippines means to me?


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
June 13th 2014
Published: June 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Whenever I plan a trip back home to the Philippines, I feel this massive buzz and excitement. Even searching for flights, booking hotels, arranging meetings all adds to this feeling building up inside me.

That’s just the beginning, I must be honest and am speaking from the heart, even when I am riding the travelator at Heathrow, I feel this great wave of adrenaline and anticipation building up, waiting in the lounge, going through customs, waiting at the boarding gate, stepping on the plane. When I am on the plane going home, I would search for the latest Filipino movies to watch, or even Filipino songs, when I am choosing from the menu, I would always search for foods that were in any way connected with the Philippines.

On board the plane, I would watch the map of where the plane was and would get really excited when I can see the Philippines on the map, touching down in Manila, I feel this wave of excitement, feel so happy I could cry, feel so relieved, relaxed, have so much energy, feel reinvigorated, this is a feeling that only arriving and being in the Philippines could bring. Even going through Immigration, maybe the immigration officer would say ‘Welcome to the Philippines’ I feel this wave of excitement.

I also have unlimited energy, when I first arrive in Manila, I would always visit Manila Bay, walk along the bay at night and just sit on the wall and look out on the horizon, relaxed, happy, ecstatic that I have reached home once again. Even though I have been up and travelling for more than 24 hours, I still want to go out and eat, have a swim, walk around Makati, visit a Mall before I even sleep!!!

Even going on the Victory Liner or Five Star Bus to my wife’s hometown of San Carlos, Pangasinan, watching the world go by on the journey, fills me with this massive buzz and anticipation. Seeing my family once again, walking around the Barangay, meeting old friends, sitting under the mango tree, eating in the house, having a cold shower, visiting Perya at night and spending a few pesos, all an absolute thrill. Everyone I meet, is always so happy to see me and friendly, I love being there.

For me, the Philippines is one of the most exciting places on the planet. Philippines I love you with all my heart!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb