Up in the Heavens


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
February 13th 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

BanuaeBanuaeBanuae

Only the beginning...but we didn't know it yet. In fact, we had literally no conception whatsoever of what we were about to get ourselves into
"You don't spend a centavos when you smile." Mary, the wife of Emiliano, the owner of this lodging and carving studio, up here in this breathtaking scenary, is yet another reason I have fallen in love with the Philippines. She is intelligent, and she is able to present to us an authentic view of Filipino life up here in Ifugao country, high in the mountains. She has given us more reason to trust the people of this country.

I could write forever about how the people you meet while travelling colour yoru experience, and I will, no doubt, write about that very thing soon enough, but after what I have seen today it is necessary to acknowledge the physique of northern Luzon.

Our neighbour at Moreno's Place in Boracay told us Batad is the place to see the terraces, but it was fate that brought us here, not advice. Reynaldo, "world's greatest tour guide" (self proclaimed), trapped us on the bus last night at 4 a, and saved us from the rain. As Mary says, you learn to accept the way he is- talkative, repetitive, at times annoying and over bearing- but at heart a wonderful person. We wanted
Banuae hillsBanuae hillsBanuae hills

The view on our trike ride...what I got a chance to see when Reynaldo gave me a minute to look
to see the rice terraces, and he happened to be in the right place (the side of the road at the edge of Banaue) at the right time (4 am in the early morning downpour).

But, without a doubt, he brought us to the most stunning scenary I will ever experience in my life. The fact that Jen made it up what we traversed was no less than utterly astounding and besides the fact that my brain was concentrated on her welfare, my heart was aching with ecstasy at the experience of a lifetime. Who needs canyoning in Cebu when you can aerobatically maneuver along the edge of thousands of year old rice terrraces at the edge of the world. And, all my passionate personality aside, I had moments today where I looked around me and paused to acknowledge that I will never experience anything quite like that again in my life. Jen faced her greatest fear galiantly head on, and I had the absolute time of my life literally risking my life tip toeing the edge of oblivion, wishing the world that the people I know would appreciate it were there. At the very least I brought them
Reynaldo and IReynaldo and IReynaldo and I

Squished in the cab...awkward
with me in Spirit. It was an amazing day.

Now I have to figure out how I will get up at 7 tomorrow morning and hike, what I have been told, "might be a little tricky". In light of the fact that today was apparently easy, I'm not sure I will sleep tonight...or live tomorrow.....here's hoping.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Church on a hilltopChurch on a hilltop
Church on a hilltop

They sure don't make it easy to worship around here
A village emersed in waterA village emersed in water
A village emersed in water

Ok so the village is dry, but it more than a metaphor that the Ifugao lives are surrounded by water and rice
ReynaldoReynaldo
Reynaldo

"Here..now take a picture of me....wait wait...yes yes, I'll stand just like this....ok go now"
Me and a sea of greenMe and a sea of green
Me and a sea of green

Fresh rice plants....breathtaking
The pathThe path
The path

What we traversed for the "safe" part of the adventure
The path againThe path again
The path again

another view


Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0133s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb