where's the palace???


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Tagaytay
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and my best friend planned on going to an amusement park in Batangas. It's called Enchanted Kingdom and it has the only decent roller coaster in the country (as far as I know but I really don't know much so don't count on me). I had my two brothers and a cousin with us and also a driver (I can't drive). We arrived there just before noon but we found out that the park wasn't opened yet until 2pm and we had to wait for like 4hours. It was so hot so I decided to do something until they opened and since Tagaytay isn't so far I asked the driver to take us there. I was hoping it would be a little cool there since it's on a higher altitude.

I wanted to check out the Palace in the Sky I've been hearing a lot since I was a kid. It's an unfinished mansion of Ferdinand Marcos that was built for the visit of former president Ronald Raegan and her wife to the country back in the 80's. And then they turned it into People's Park in the Sky for people to visit. I have no idea what to expect but I was really shocked with what I have seen.

First, we had to pay 15 pesos (about 25Euro cents) for the ticket and then walk our way up to the top of the hill. Oh that was a really tiring walk! And I was so disappointed to see what the palace looked like. My house deserves to be called a palace more than it! And you could look at mine for free! It had no roof, and it was really rusty. It had nothing inside. What happened????

There was a sign that says renovation is going on but I didn't see any work that is going on at all. I'm surprised to find some souvenir stores there though as I thought we were the only people in the world who have ever thought of going there. And darn the prices for those souvenirs were ridiculously expensive! I could get them cheaper in a mall.

But honestly, it wasn't all that bad. Because you could get a really good view of Taal volcano (world's smallest), Taal Lake and the rest of Tagaytay from there. If only I'm not this broke and I'll ever find out that the place is for sale, I would defnitely buy it and make a real good palace and probabaly even top Ludwig's Neuschwanstein. IF ONLY.......

So after that, we had lunch and went back to Enchanted Kingdom and had some pretty good time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb