The Whole Sabang!


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Puerto Galera
December 31st 2007
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's 4:02pm. I'm here at Sabang "beach" hanging out with Stefan, someone I ran into at Puerto Galera. He's an Englishman, traveling around South East Asia. He just graduated from college and is traveling before settling down. Nice guy. It's great to have someone to talk to sometimes, and compare notes with.

I'm sitting here at this bar all sweaty. I was going to go back to Puerto Galera (a 15 minute jeep ride away) but decided to stay here instead. I was going to go back to my hostel room there and put on something different. We are planning on hanging out and finding a place to party and celebrate the New Year. The jeeps stop running here around 5:30. I could always come back but it would cost me 50 pesos for a private ride. It's not worth it.

Anyway, Sabang beach is not much of a beach. It's mainly for divers. It's rocky, and the waves are huge. I can't see how they let the little poor kids swim in the ocean unattended, but you can't save the world. But there are lots of bars here. I hear to really lay out in the sun, we'd have to go to White Beach.

I'm staying here this evening. I got an OK room for $25, a/c cable TV, private bathroom. It's touristy here. Lots of Germans and Scandinavians. I took some pictures in town, including this poor, gypsy family, boarding a jeep, on the roof, including the little kids. I'm starting to speak more tagalog, out of courtesy to the local people. It's alot like in Europe, whenever I need to ask something I give them a heads' up by saying "Do you speak English" instead of speaking it right out like "Speak English now!"



Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb