Coron Palawan -- A nepenthes Haven


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Palawan
March 21st 2003
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

ViewtifulViewtifulViewtiful

Coron ... I going back ...
I had the chance to visit Coron Palawan last March 21, 2003 with the intention of escaping for a while from my very stressful work. Palawan is synonymous to island hopping, snorkling, kayaking and swimming. In short its a complete getaway from a very demanding world. Though I have been hearing that Nepenthes do florish on this part of the island, I have never expected that I would see them on my visit to the island. But before packing my things to Palawan, I make it a point to have a picture of some Nepenthes on hand as adviced by a friend so I can show it to the locals since these plants have different names as you go from places to places. Well he is right but the funny thing here is that there is actually no name to call these plant on that place. Anyway, here is my story...


We were on a package tour for 3 days at Coron Palawan where we are expecting to go to different islands. The place was really spectacular and you can see white beaches and lots of mountains (though some are already dry) and the food were also delicious and
The plotThe plotThe plot

This is where it all started
always fresh. However, after two days of doing the same thing, I just got bored. So on the third day, I decided not to join the group for some more island hoping and instead look around and found someone on the foot of the mountain picking up some cashew nuts. I asked the guy right away about the pitcher plant. Of course I have to show them the picture as they would definitely wont know what I am saying. Guess what, the guy whom I asked for was a staff on the beach resort where we checked in. And he just told me that he have seen these plants just beside the mountain where the resort is located. SO to my excitement, I requested him if he can guide me to that mountain and made an arrangement with him that we trek that mountain early in the morning. Fortunately he was kind enough to make the arragement. I also ask some of my friend if they would like to join me and 3 more joined the hike. So when the day came, I went directly to the restaurant for some cup of tea and requested for an egg sandwitch that
the missing link!!!the missing link!!!the missing link!!!

A new discovery???
I can bring during our hike. The trek started at the foot of the resort where there are lots of bamboo trees. The trail to that mountain is not so hard as there is already an established trail to the peak of the mountain. We were able to reach the peak in just 45 minutes. But since most of as are just first timer, we were all breathing so hard upon reaching the top. But there must be some sort of a special feeling which I have experienced once I reached the top. It was wonderful !!! Catching the morning sun on top of the mountain. That must be something that you dont do everyday. Then one by one I could not believe what I am seeing. There are nepenthes all over the place. Though they are covered with grasses, you can still see them. It was sad to learn that someone is burning the grass on the top of the mountain which includes the Neps. But some says that it is part of a Nepenthes "circle of life". Nepenthes may have not survived if not for those burnings as they maybe overgrown by those tall grasses. Also, their seeds
nepenhes ...nepenhes ...nepenhes ...

aka .. the pitcher plant
may have not germinated as grass will also deprived them of sunlight. So something bad may also be good to some if you just think about it. Just like life, trials (which we consider as bad to us) makes us stronger and help us survive a very challenging and exciting world where we live in. Anyway, the hike to that unknown mountain at Dive Link resort made my Palawan tour complete. In fact my friends who also joined the hike are now into mountaineering. And guess what? I organizes their climb... But that will be another story to tell. Ill be going to Sagada Mt Province this May 2003 so watch out for my report. Till next time... Hope you enjoy my not so interesting adventure ... greenslime 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

 mark and me .. emil mark and me .. emil
mark and me .. emil

MARK marks the trail ....Emil Emails the details ... so you wont get lost when you visited coron ... corny. ..


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb