Growing Old With Fond Memories


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Metromanila » Makati
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Apos On A TiburinApos On A TiburinApos On A Tiburin

"apos" mean grandchildren (grandnieces and grandnephews included) and "tiburin" refers to a horse-drawn cart.

It's 3 o'clock in the morning and I stare brain dead
How that form now spans nearly the length of the bed
Have I missed any of those precious years .......or
Simply ignored how these "babies" grew inches more?





Memories flood my mind like a tsunami
Years nearly forgotten, joy overflowing
Yesterday's past morphing into my present
Those little ones have grown !





They ask more pointed questions now
My bedtime stories no longer hits
I've long stopped humming lullabies
IPods plugged in their tiny ears.







I fetch them from school but wait in the car
I hear their laughter before I see them come
Bags too heavy, hands too dirty
And more than ready to be home in a jiffy.







These are my little travel buddies
And my prayer warriors too
Over scoops of yoghurt and mallows
We live each day with no sorrows.








We thank God for this blessing
Hugs and kisses never ending
For it's a gift not just to have them
But to have the

heart to enjoy them.




Stay happy, Everyone! 😊




Now back to sleep . zzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz












Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My good-looking Karate KidMy good-looking Karate Kid
My good-looking Karate Kid

Riley, so good looking. And so sweet too.
Josh and His GrandmaJosh and His Grandma
Josh and His Grandma

That is Josh and my elder sister (when she was way younger), who is now based in Sydney
XionXion
Xion

My grandnephew born and based in Sydney. (We finally met in May 2013)
MartinMartin
Martin

My Kitaro Kid. Kitaro used to be Martin's fav resto.
Paolo and PatriciaPaolo and Patricia
Paolo and Patricia

Paolo is my dear friend's son. He is also my godson.
Who says you can't go skating in the Philippines?Who says you can't go skating in the Philippines?
Who says you can't go skating in the Philippines?

In Mall of Asia, where you pay to skate on this rink
MamuMamu
Mamu

This was taken in Boracay, where we welcomed the year 2010.
Patricia By The DoorPatricia By The Door
Patricia By The Door

After school, we drag the bags out of the car into our condo units. Some routine!
Can I do this again?Can I do this again?
Can I do this again?

Taken in 2003 on a trip to USA , covering both East and West Coasts with kids aged 2 and 5. Two strollers in tow. Dear me!
Growing Up Growing Up
Growing Up

Taken in Boracay


14th February 2011

Happy Valentines Day to you also - you have a lovely family! Thanks for sharing this with us
14th February 2011

Also a poet
From detailed travel journals to interesting blogs and now you do poetry. Truly amazing including how the kids have grown. i feel old...Xion is whose child? Anika? Love your pic with Patricia, Sarah can really "capture the moment".
14th February 2011

Happy Valentine's Tita Lili to you and your family!!!
15th February 2011

nice :)
(late) Happy Valentines Day po! ... I was just at home, sick after a trip! I hope it was a good day for you.
16th February 2011

Happy Valentines Day to Everyone!
Now you're really trying! Good stuff Lili. David Grey haired nomads

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb