Ma-ma-ma-manila


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
June 6th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First humid contact (Day 1)


Arrived late last night in Manila. Things have changed a lot at the airport since I was here in 1998. For one, customs was a lot more organized and seemed a bit like entering Japan. And now they keep the awaiting guests in an area far from the taxi's. Well, I walked away from the airport a bit and met a policeman. It was late, after 11pm. The streets were pretty empty. He flagged down a taxi, but since I was going nearby the driver didn't want to drive me. Well, the cop flagged down another taxi, and by this time the first driver came back and said "ok, I'll take you." He started off but wouldn't turn on his meter. I heard that at a late hour like this you have to negotiate, well, you pretty much have no choice. This guy wanted 5000 pesos (around $10). What?! Well, we agreed on 250 pesos and I gave him a $1 tip. "Is that all," he said.

I checked into my dilapidated room. (It's cheap, so that's why I'm staying here. Only going to be here one more day, and then I'm off to Boracay. )

After checking in, I took a jeepney (7.50 pesos) to Chowking and had a late-night dinner. Then I walked around a bit and exchanged some of my yen and went to a live house. I had a few beers and watched a band play Filipino songs and some others that I knew from the 80's and 90's. The girls on stage danced and sang non-stop for two hours till I left. The male vocalist was really good. The girls were good. The band wasn"t bad. They liked to rock, and tended to make the place all sleepy when they sang the slow stuff. But I made a request ("Bakit ngalong ka lang") and the male vocalist and one of the female vocalists belted it out beautifully. I left and came back to the hotel, this time by metered taxi, and I gave the guy a 100 yen tip. He didn't quite know what to say.

Later in the room I tried to get the wall fan to work. I proceeded to get shocked and gave up. I took a shower and then had some of my shochu and contemplated my situation.

Today I must find a ferry ticket and change money. I heard there's a mall nearby. I guess I'll go there.

Sitting by the walkway on the bay (Day 2)


Yesterday, my first official day in the PI was interesting. I went to Robinson's place, this big mall in Ermita, by taxi to buy a ferry ticket. Ermita was the place I stayed 8 years ago and was curious to check out the area to see how much it changed. And it really did. Tall skyscrapers are sprouting up everywhere, but the area still retains it's wild and crazy atmosphere, with money changers, bars, etc. every few doors.

I got my ticket and then found a great chicken place called Max's. They have the same place in LA and I hadn't been there in years, so I decided to go. The food was great but the service sucked. It actually took them about 20 minutes to bring me my change. The girl said it was some sort of computer error. Anyway, I walked around the mall window shopping and then got a waist bag to carry my belongings. I felt like I was being targeted by pickpockets, and a couple times people came up to me to compliment me on my bracelet or say something I couldn't understand. Well, the mall is just huge, it really feels like being in America.

After the mall I walked around trying to find Centrepointe where I stayed before. I couldn't find it and gave up, choosing to walk instead along Manila Bay. It was hot. I had forgotten my hat. And sunburn was soon approaching my bald head. I walked a ways and just saw a bunch of boarded up places, one after another. I asked a young filipino man what was up with this. He said that at night a lot of bands play. Well, I escaped the place and chose to look for the hotel again.

I was walking along Mabini St and this man quoted me an excellent exchange rate on the yen. I had to take it. I went into exchage 7000 but the ladies wanted more. So I pulled some sweat-soaked 10,000 yen notes from my money bet and passed them to her. She looked a bit disgusted but gave me my pesos all the same. I counted it twice. I asked the man who brought me there where Centrepointe was. He said, "it's here. Next door."

I peaked in the dark windows and faintly remember the place where we first stayed, where Dad dyed his hair dark black, put on a suit and danced the night away with the beautician. Where I met Michelle. Where I got scammed out of 300 or so pesos. Well, it changed.

I was hot so popped into an open air cafe. The lady was asleep in the chair. I said hello, but she finally woke to kumusta. Her name is Virgie. She is from Angeles. I stayed at this place for about 5 hours. I met the owner, Jorge, who is a retired Manila policeman. He said he may have heard of my relative, Sabio Omana, who was also a policeman. Jorge and Rose (another staff) and Virgie invited me to come back next week when I return. I'll be able to sing more karaoke tunes.

Well, from there I got in a taxi to come home. But as we were travelling down Roxas next to the boardwalk, I saw many bands playing. I told the driver to pull over. I walked around and settle on this young group with two girl singers. Around a few hours later I would be on stage singing a couple songs with them to a crowd of about a 100 people. I met the city councillor of Tondo. I met many other people. The band, A25, became my new friends. Mark on guitar, and Donna and Vicks, the singers. I promised to meet them next Friday when I return. That's all for now. I gotta catch a ferry to Boracay.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb