Behaving myself in The Philippines....


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

With Cha at Al's BarWith Cha at Al's BarWith Cha at Al's Bar

Oh what a night!!!
The last couple of weeks have been very chilled out, but NEVER boring. Week nights are filled with playing Tongits with family and on the weekends I have been lucky enough to watch some amazing bands; my cousin AJ's band 'Tabass' included. Last week Saturday my cousin LJ, who recently turned 18, had hosted a joint celebration with a friend at a place called AL's bar in BF. There were 6 bands, most of them friends or friends of friends who were willing to come along and play just for the fun of it. The bands were all brilliant, especially since most of them are just kids. They kicked arse on stage! AJ's friends 'Angulo' played a set too. LJ had told me they were on MTV and were pretty famous here, but unfortunately I had never heard of them so was just really looking forward to seeing them do their thing and they were just awesome. Any of the songs they performed could make it in the UK no doubt. The last band up for the night was Tabass and of course they did not disappoint. I think that was the 4th gig I've seen of their's in the past
AnguloAnguloAngulo

Awesome!
couple of months and I love it! There's SO much musical talent in the country it's amazing!

Last Friday Cha come to stay with us and AJ took us back to Al's bar to see some bands. Angulo were there again and for me they were the best of the night. Throughout the I became extremely intoxicated. When you're sitting there watching live bands it's too easy to knock back the beers without realising how many you've had. Trés dangerous! Saturday night was another spectaular night watching Tabass. They had 2 gigs with the 1st requiring a pretty long road trip to Fairview.and ff course they were both brilliant. I'd go as far as to say it's the best I've seen them play in my short time here. The crowd loved them and so they bloody well should!!

I'm off to Boracay for a couple of days on my own. This short trip is more to satisfy my curiosity more than anything else. The last time I went there I was just 7 yrs old and I although I barely remember what it looked like, I can recall that it was beautfil. In the past 5 years I've
Tabass!Tabass!Tabass!

We ended up having dinner and smoking Sheesha after Al's Bar.
heard some mixed reviews so I want to check it out for myself. I have to be at the airport at 3am. YIKES!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb