Manila, Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila
December 5th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sat 11/29
So let's cut out my amazing introduction and skip right to the part where I'm at LAX airport and China Airlines tells me that they have no ticket for me . That was fun. But after assuaging (begging) some key personnel I am whisked off to the airport office where I contacted STA Travel to reissue my ticket. I can already see not having a cell phone was a good idea at the time. 19 hours, 4 meals, and 1 layover in Taipei, Taiwan later, I arrive at my first destination: Manila, Philippines. I am to meet Tara's aunt at the airport which shouldn't be too hard to find. I am told she is Tara's height (5'4), dark skinned and crazy looking. Great description. Luckily, being a tall white chick with braces tends to stand out a little more and I am quickly united with Meir and Tara's uncle Lito.

Shortly thereafter, I am acquainted wiht the congested, exhaust-filled streets of Manila. I knew I wasn't in the states anymore when I saw a lady on one side of the freeway holding a bunch of dead ducks for sale, roosters walking around aimlessly and one old blind man navigating his way through highway traffic. Finally I arrived at Tara's house (which to me looks like a palace) and was welcomed by her Grandmother, Nanay, a handful of assistants and a filipino feast. I cannot understand really a word Nanay says but she is the cutest 80 year old woman I've ever met (besides you, Gram Miracle of course).

A few hours later, Tara and her mom, Wilma arrive and we partake in filipino feast round 2. I freshen up, take a power nap and head out to some hot spot in Manila where I meet two of Tara's friends. One of which, Cesca, was a VJ for MTV Asia and is now host of "The Filipino Challenge." A couple of drinks and the roommate and I call it a night. Jet lag has set in folks...

Sun 11/30
This morning starts off with a call time of 5:00am (an everyday occurence of Tara's family) and a humid run with Tara around her village....Yes, village, right outside of Paranaque City, where running water is still a privilege. I don't think the locals know what to think of me yet. Tara has nicknamed me "The White Devil" haha. After having a Thanksgiving size breakfast, Tara, Wilma and I head to pick up family friend Isabella aka Izzy for "The Tour of Manila." Izzy by the way, is daughter of filipino sensation Kuh Ledesma. Think Whitney Houston of the 90's. So we all walk around the historic sites of Manila. Namely Fort Santiago, which was former home to Jose Rizal, national hero of the Philippines. He was basically the equivalent to Nelson Mandella of South Africa minus Apartheid. Took some great pictures of the prison cells and surrounding landscape before heading off to lunch to meet Tara's older brother, Pio and family. At this point I tell Tara that I don't know how much more eating I can physically do. It's like a full contact sport out here.

Later on, Tara and I go back to Izzy's place which is more like a spanish villa and she shows us around her dance and recording studio because she is an amazing singer as well. I let Izzy know that I'm trying to set up a meeting between Tara and a mutal facebook friend and neighbor of Izzy's as it turns out, whom I have coined "Mr. Manila." Without hesitation, Izzy texts Mr. Manila and we are at his house at 7:00pm for some "tea and biscuits" aka filipino feast. This guy is one of those people that looks great on paper but you truly have to meet in person to decide for yourself.

We are given the 5 cent tour of his home which includes an art collection of over 3,000 paintings and several rolls royces (sp?) if that gives you any insight. I get more excited by the minute that I may have just found Tara's future husband. We come to find out that Mr. Manila, a graduate of MIT and Harvard builds schools for underdeveloped areas in the Philippines through his own company. He also works with UNICEF, some other organization for the homeless...is a pilot and artist among many other things. Basically, one of those people that makes you think "What am I doing wiht my life?" So just when we could barely maintain a straight face any longer guess who walks in? His girlfriend of course! Aah I do live for awkward moments. I don't think Tara's ready to get married anyways after all. At the very least we learned about some interesting sights to see while in Australia.

Mon 12/1
Lindsay Learns to Surf
Tara tells me that we are going on a daytrip to an amazing surf spot today in the rural beach province called La Union. AWESOME! What I didn't know is that this "daytrip" takes 7 hours to get there and half the adventure is in the drive itself. Let me just say that filipino motorists are insane!!! I am convinced that the object is to play "Chicken" with every car, jitney and tricycle on the road. Mom mom, your nutsy pills would never do here haha. But one look at the China Sea and I realize that the white knuckle ride was worth it.

Now the other thing Tara told me was that these waves were for the intermediate surfer. Challenges are great, right? What I wasn't expecting were 8 ft. waves with a strong undertow. Nevertheless, Tara, her cousin Alvin and I make it our goal to stand up on at least 1 wave. Great success! Except now I know why people wear rash guards.

After about 3 hours of wipeouts and locals making fun of us (it was pretty hilarious) we celebrate with a beer and call it a day. So starts the trek home which was more exciting this time around with half the cars, buses and trucks not having any headlights on!

Tue 12/2
HASHING
Tonight I am introduced to the sub culture of Hasing, an international club of self proclaimed "drinkers with a running problem." In short, there is the running course of approximately 5 miles that is set throughout the streets of Manila this evening. The object is to find the markers around town that will lead you back to home base, where the drinks and food await you (Lisa-Marie you would love this).

Our pack consisted of 5 people. As it turns out we were the front runner but really, only because Tara and I didn't have a flash light so our main motivation was to stay with the only guy that did! Running through the squatter villages (or slums) of Manila at night was one fo the most wild experiences of my life. You really get an understanding for what life is like in a developing nation. There are no roads but rather dirt alleyways with children scattered about while their families cook food on open fires and bathe on the side. Stray dogs chased us as we dodged each motor bike and tricycle in our path. The villages are so polluted that I felt like I was running in a closed parking lot with every vehicles engine running. But climbing up call the hidden sets of stairs and tunnel entrances was like being in some sort of action movie.

After about an hour excursion we finally made it and "circled up" as Hashers call it. Being a "virgin" to hashing meant it was open season on me filled with light hearted verbal attacks which consisted of songs and "accusations" all the while making me down a beer standing on a podium in front of everyone. My favorite accusation was made by Tara and it was for being over 23 and still wearing braces. All in all, an unforgettable first Hash.

***Stay tuned to the next episode of Miracle/Macken Worldwide Tour 08-09' when Lindsay and Tara hike a volcanoe, get stranded in the middle of a sea and get to stay at a famous resort by ourselves.***

Advertisement



5th December 2008

hahahaha. it is such a treat to read your adventures....especially when i know they're all TRUE =) hehehehe. Polution! La Union! Filipino men with endless capabilities until you find their flaw =) hilarious! Food, more food, and then some more food! I know Kuh Ledesma, not related to Maria Ledesma =) Jose Rizal spoke at least 10 languages! Driving in the dark =) and yes... something is always wrong with the water pumps and hot water (not that you need it there =) takes awhile! Enjoy some more =) Philippines is definitely fun! Extreme contrast of poverty and luxury, isn't it?! have you seen those flying cockroaches no matter how beautiful the homes =)? Ahhhh, manila. I miss it sometimes =)
6th December 2008

Wow
MAV- Sounds like you are having the time of your life. I am glad to hear all of the fun stuff you are doing. I hope to see pictures at some point!
8th December 2008

You Go Girls!
You sure are living life to the fullest! Your Mom Mom must be a nervous wreck. So proud of you---loved the blog--be safe!

Tot: 0.267s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb