Arrival! Basking in the glory of air conditioning


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Manila » Malate
June 3rd 2011
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm currently sat in my hotel room, tired, sweaty and happy. I've just arrived and almost everything went to plan.
I must say that Cathay Pacific is probably the best airline I've flown with. Check in was easy at Heathrow, and the space you get in economy class was surprisingly good. There were loads of films and TV shows to watch - enough to keep anyone entertained and yes, Claire, I held back from watching Dexter 5.
Straight off one plane at Hong Kong and onto the next where I was stopped at passport control. I handed over my boarding pass and the woman scanned it only to look up and say "I'm afraid we're going to move your seat... to Business Class". You can only imagine my delight after a 12 hour ride in economy. The upper deck is good with proper seats you can fully recline and soft pillows. I was only just starting to learn the "business class" etiquette - consisting mainly of using real glass to drink from and metal cutlery to eat with - when one of the cabin crew handed me the customs forms which I started to read. Halfway down I got to the part about currency which read "Are you carrying legal tender Philippine notes in excess of 10000 Pesos?" Was I, hmmmm? Only a little bit over at 164000 - sh!t this was 16 times the legal limit and I had visions of a Philippine jail or worse a cavity search! This ruined my Business class experience.
I decided honesty was the best policy though and declared everything on the form and after a nervous wait for my bag - which included thoughts of my bag coming off last and then being hauled off into a smoke filled search room - I approached the customs desk. I handed over my form which was looked over and I was asked a question about my laptop and then was given the all clear to proceed. I honestly couldn't believe it, it was my lucky day.
I took a taxi ride to the hotel with Peter - my first friend - and on the way I was able to experience the traffic in Manila on a Friday which was pretty hectic and I'd forgotten just how heavy it was. So now I am basking in the glory of air conditioning and later today I'm off to meet the child protection team.
I'll get some pics on here soon.
Tim


Advertisement



3rd June 2011

glad you've arrived safely
a bonus on the upgraded travel. Talk soon x
23rd March 2012

Intramuros Electric Chariots Tour Launched
Intramuros Electric Chariots Tour Launched For the first time in Philippine history, an Electric Chariots tour of Intramuros has been launched by White Knight tours at Hotel Intramuros fronting San Agustin Church. The Electric Chariots are 2 wheel equipments with automatic balancing electronic gadget that moves forward if your body leans forward and stops or move backward as you lean backwards. The guided tours using electric chariots amplify the most recent tourism slogan of “It’s more fun in the Philippines” for indeed, the exhalation as well. White Knight offers 30 minutes and 1 hour guided tours of Intramuros with price ranging from Php500 for 30minutes and Php1000 for 1 hour. Unlike riding the horse driver Chariots tours which provide passive involvements for passengers and tourist, the Electric Chariots reinvigorates the user with its interactive role of balancing and inspires a sense of adrenaline rush. It’s an experience in a life time that one should never miss! For further info, White Knight Tours contact details are telephone: +6325 5252381 or +632 5266181

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb