13 days in the Philipines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Luzon
November 10th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

I will try to do this blog in my best English so forgive me for bad grammar :P

The 28th of october my trip started, I left my home at 10 am and I flew away with Cathay Pacific for a long flight to Hong Kong. I must say this airline is realy great. Comfortable seats and very friendly crew. After a stopover I landed friday 29th october at 10 am in Manila, Corazon Aquino Airport. I went directly to the hotel my great friend Angie arranged for me. Angie called me and we agreed to meet in the evening so I could sleep for a while and she could finish her work😊.
In the evening I met Angie for the first time of my life and I must say she is realy great😊. We went to eat my first Philipinian dinner. Well we went to Mc Donalds lol. After that we went to a Halloween Party at a radio station. I realy enjoyed this evening although I was still a little bit tired and still adjusting to this different time zone. After an excellent evening Angie brought me back to my hotel and I could sleep some more (lol).
The next afternoon Angie showed me the second biggest mall of Asia. There is an iceskating track in the Mall and the Mall is realy big. Sometimes I was affraid we would go lost. The Mall is situated at the Manila Bay with a very nice boardwalk. This boardwalk goes from Manila to Pasay (the place we were atm). A very clean area and a good atmosphere. In the evening there were awesome firetechniques and I enjoyed this very much. Because I was still a little bit tired we agreed to meet the next morning/afternoon to go visit the old city of Manila.
Sunday as agreed we went to a park (I dont know the name anymore) where I admired the statue of nation heroe Lapu-Lapu. He killed the explorer Magelhaen so that in fact its not the portugese Magelhaen who was the first going around the world. We also saw the statue of J.P. Rizal a person who lived in the 19th century who was revealing the true spirit of the cruel Spaniard rulers. In fact the Philipino people had the same enemy as the Dutch did, namely the spaniards😊 After a guided tour through the old city I went back to the hotel and Angie went home because she had to work the next day again😞.
The next day I went with a bustour (very comfortable busses they have in the Philipines 😊 ) to the sout of the island LUZON and went with a boat to the island Mindoro. At this place I spend 4 days in a very relaxing touristic atmosphere. I was lazy at the beach and did go to some bars. My appartment was nearly 4 meters away from the sea. I enjoyed my stay here.
After that I went back to Manila for a one day stop over in the same lovely hotel i was before. The next morning I went with the bus to the Hundred Island National Park. This place is in north of Manila. I arrived at 4 pm so it was too late to visit the Hundred Islands, but the next day I went there and hired a boat. The boatsman showed me all the awesome Islands and at some Islands we could go walk and there were white beaches too😊. I enjoyed this place realy.
The next day I had to go further to the destination Bontoc. Bontoc is the capital of the Mountain provence and as the name suggests it was a very tough drive with the bus. Going up and down with sharp turns. After 11 hours I arrived in Bontoc at the hotel. The next day I went with a guide to see the awesome riceterraces that are in the neighbourhood of Bontoc. Realy awesome that people could build this in the ancient times.
At the moment Im sitting in an internetcafe in Bontoc writing my story. I hope you enjoyed reading this firts story😊

Tomorow im going back to Manila and hopefully Angie and i will go to Aurora National Park in the weekend.

I realy like the Philipines:
- food is better than I thought before I went there. Some meals are realy delicious.
- People are very nice and always smiling
- I did meet Angie my good friend who helped me till now very good.


Kind regards,

Peter


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



10th November 2010

hi kie, glad you're having a great time :)
11th November 2010

I'm glad you're enjoying yourself, Kiesie :) It looks like you've had a very nice start to your trip. Much love, Emma
12th November 2010

Interesting!
Interesting story. Glad you're having a great time in the Philippines. Take your time, the country has a lot to offer. By the way, it's actually the same Magellan....the world explorer's life ended in Cebu, Philippines.
14th November 2010

!
*observes
14th November 2010

Thanks all for the comments:)
16th November 2010

Picture #11
erhhmm, kie, pic 7 is the statue of king carlos IV of Spain :)
25th November 2010

Lol thanks I forgot:(

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb