Starting My Travel Blog


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Luzon » Zambales » Iba
December 8th 2012
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So, on the advise of my good friend and incredible photographer, Kelly Cappelli (www.kellycappelli.com) I've decided to start my blog on this trip to the Philippines, and then will be traveling on to Indonesia. The first photos I'm uploading will be from around the area of Iba, Zambales. Traveling through this area I was amazed to see that even after 22 years the effects of the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo are still evident. Many of the rivers in the area are still buried under tons of Lahar. Some of the rivers are being dredged in an attempt to get them flowing again. In a later entry I will upload photos of a cross sticking up out of the lahar and the rest of the church remains buried since that day in 1991.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Lahar covered riverLahar covered river
Lahar covered river

Driving through Zambales you can still see the effects of the eruption of Mt. Pinatubo which erupted in 1991. Many of the rivers in Zambales are still dry and covered with tons of Lahar. Some, like this one are being dredged of the Lahar to get them flowing again.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb