Ilocos Sur – DAY 3


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Ilocos
November 12th 2011
Published: November 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we leave Ilocos Sur to head back to Manila. But before we do, Gina (an attorney) wanted to sit in on a preliminary court hearing as an observer. So Joel, Uncle Cid, and I had time to visit yet another nearby town Vigan – considered to have the most preserved evidence of Spanish colonial architecture.

As we arrived in Vigan, I realized that I already had packed my camera for the anticipated departure. So I had to rely on my cell phone to take pictures. We walked around its town proper and found a section lined with centuries-old buildings with its streets very narrow barely able to accommodate today's modern vehicles. It is an extreme contrast to the the congested traffic plagued streets a mere block away.

We then head back to Cabugao where Dioci & Chita have prepared lunch – our final meal before we depart. The menu included Rice, Chicken & Pork Adobo Combination, Fried Shrimp, Tiny Anchovies, and “ABC” - a vegetable dish which turned out to be my favorite and everyone's as well. As we ate, I commented to Dioci & Chita that they had set up the bar so high that my upcoming meals for the rest of my vacation time (2 ½ weeks) will pale in comparison.

After lunch, we sad-fully said our goodbyes as we had a long 10-hour drive ahead of us. The return trip took longer because we gained 1 passenger which required a slight change in our route. Thanks again to Dioci & Chita for their incredible hospitality in providing both accommodations and meals that made this visit to the Northern part of the Philippines an experience that will last my lifetime. But most of all, thanks to Gina & Joel – this trip would not be remotely possible without them.

On Saturday. I head out to Singapore!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb