Friends and a long lost uncle (Cebu Part 3)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
September 25th 2004
Published: September 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

How time creeps on in its steady stride while we notice the little aches and pains! I felt my knee was sore (perhaps from carrying such a big pack) , possibly old injuries resurrected. Anyway today was very humid and dusty, Cebu is alive and well, lot’s of trading going on from the street peddler to the international currency market (such as my distant relative who part owns a bank!). I met with old friends and my banker relative who took us to the local go-go bar (lol)! That is the last time I let someone choose where we go next (smile). Anyway, after some awkward moments, we had a couple of beers and left to ponder on our teenage years.

It was nice to catch up even for a brief moment, so much to say and so little time. Its funny how upon seeing your old friends, you can still see their faces when they were in their teens. Nothing much has changed other than the odd beer gut and wrinkle. I spent a total of 2 hours with friends I had not seen for 18 years. It is kind of odd how we are friends and strangers at the same time. Very sad to hear of people you know who passed away in your absence or have gone down the pits. When you go to a reunion sometimes the insecurities of not doing as well as such and such prevent you from having a good time or even attending. At other times, you feel for those who had not had the same fortune as you and feel bad about doing well. I felt that today.

My banker relative seems to have done well for himself though. I remember us as children and our mischief. I smile when I think of the childhood I had, full of life and laughter, the occasional bouts of boredom and lots of siesta time! This was a reinforced routine by my adoptive mom who will watch me like a hawk until I fall asleep. And she knows when I pretend to sleep as I used to do, for 3 hours which felt like 24! I could have used that time resting and getting some genuine sleep.

I lament the trees that have been cut down in our little yard. I used to climb those trees and munch on guavas and macopa fruits on humid and lazy afternoons much like today. I remember the afternoon breeze which would rock the trees in a gentle sway while I am perched on its branches. Those trees are gone now, in its place are overgrown weeds and two coconut trees (a lot harder to climb, lol!).

Nice to catch up with an uncle who has been away for most of the time ever since I could remember (ex US military). He is enjoying his retirement as he should and at an excellent age too being youngish and fit. Catching up unplanned was a really pleasant surprise, got to meet a side of the family that had legendary status written all over him and with whom I remember when I was a little boy as the man with the “black belt” - referring to his black belt in tae kwon do. Nice to be able to talk western and local politics, religion, computers and some economics. I can see that he will have a great time in his retirement here, with USD 1.00 close to PhP 60.00.

Note that the price of San Miguel Beer is PhP 14.00 or USD 0.24, no wonder the fridge is well stocked, lol! Bottled water is roughly the same for a litre which is advisable as I have caught a nasty stomach bug drinking the local water. Don’t forget to bring some Imodium tablets or similar.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb