To the movies (Cebu Part 2)


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu
September 25th 2004
Published: September 25th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Today as my taxi drove past the cinema, I noticed a banner ad for the movie “Man on Fire” with Denzel Washington. About 10 years back, I read a book by A.J.Quinnell called “Man on Fire” (1980) about a shot at redemption of an ex-dog of war, mercenary. Common plot but I am always drawn to this kind of stories. The book is an excellent read, though. I truly got excited at the prospect of watching this film, half hoping that it did not stray much from the novel by A.J.Quinnell, of which I am a fan. Anyway, today we were scheduled to watch “Feng Shui”, a local horror flick. Everybody that suggested that we see this movie got ear bashed by me after. I must admit I partly enjoyed it and cracked me up like nobody’s business only because it reminded me of times spent together as kids. When I get time in my travels, I would really like to see “Man on Fire”, only for the sake of A.J.Quinnell. I like his novels (In the Name of the Father 1987, The Perfect Kill 1992), very well researched, almost factual, and Tony Scott (Crimson Tide) directs it so it might possibly be a good movie. One would hope anyway.

Advertisement



6th November 2004

To the movies.
Hi! I watched a pirated cd,common culture here in cebu instead of the movies, and I watched the man on fire..i hope you have watched that movie already..yeah its a good story about a kidnappd girl planned by her own father..kinda have to shake my head..what a plot really ...feung shui is still better although it was just fictitious, fiction would be preferable than a wild violent drama movie..hehehe!! Anyway, you forgot to mention that cebu has less traffic than in manila, and that you dont spend 100 pesos just for a one way fare unlike manila...also, tagalog movies are quite fun, if you just wanna be silly sometimes..although sometimes, tagalog movies can be really fun, intelligent, one of a kind, and really sentimental you can bring a lot of tissues to the cinema to wipe your tears..that the trademark of filipino movies..cheers!!
6th November 2004

To the movies.
Hi! I watched a pirated cd,common culture here in cebu instead of goin to the cinema, and I watched the man on fire..i hope you have watched that movie already..yeah its a good story about a kidnappd girl planned by her own father..kinda have to shake my head..what a plot really ...feung shui is still better although it was just fictitious, fiction would be preferable than a wild violent drama movie..hehehe!! Anyway, you forgot to mention that cebu has less traffic than in manila, and that you dont spend 100 pesos just for a one way fare unlike manila...also, tagalog movies are quite fun, if you just wanna be silly sometimes..although sometimes, tagalog movies can be really fun, intelligent, one of a kind, and really sentimental you can bring a lot of tissues to the cinema to wipe your tears..that's the trademark of filipino movies..cheers!!
22nd November 2004

Yes I have seen the movie here already (I am now in London)and was pleasantly surprised because I expected a totally "hollywood" version, but to my surprise the violence has been toned down only slightly. The book of course evoked a savagery much more than that of the movie, which I suppose is better left that way, subject to the readers' life experiences and imagination. The plot was the same but the location has been changed, that of Mexico City. Feng Shui on the other hand, what a hoot! I would have been keen to see some Filipino comedy but Feng Shui was almost one anyway (lol!).
22nd November 2004

Oh yeah, also the traffic in Cebu was something I failed to mention (and also the cost of travelling around town), which was really a joy as it is really dead cheap(far cheaper than Manila, anyway). Traffic is not as bad bad it is getting there what with all the new shopping malls and property developments springing up everywhere like mushrooms. When I was in Cebu as a kid, it was really like an old colonial town, very sedate. That is the Cebu that I will always remember, nevertheless, I am impressed with Cebu and its future. The powers-that-be seem to be on the ball.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb