my home far, far away..


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cebu » Cebu City
April 26th 2006
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

my home......my home......my home......

this is my beautiful home....
firstly, i will give you a brief background about myself......i am ricky, from cebu.....i was teaching in USC when i first heard that i was accepted for a study grant in the Netherlands....so in August 1998, for the first time in my life, i set foot in a foreign country.....i stayed there for 2 years to complete my MSc in Biochemical Engineering in Delft Technical University.....

To make the story shorter, it was a school-house-school scenario for the first year until i began to assimilate into the dutch society....i made friends (enemies too..hahaha) and maybe the whole Filipino community......

When i finished my MSc, i had to go back to USC to return service.....but the urge to seek for greener pasture was more overwhelming than returning service.....I left again in November 2001.......but this time in Maastricht, south of Holland...the birthplace of the European Union. Such a lovely place, totally different from the rest of holland and even described it as "not Holland". There, you can be in 3 countries at the same time....that's true....they call it "Drielandenpunt", it's the place where the boundaries of germany, belgium and the Netherlands.

I stayed there, found a job, although other than what i studied, found love, learned the language, again making friends. In July 2006, I packed my bag and headed to Schiphol for my first grand vacation after 5 long years...........


This what this blog is all about.......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb