First Week In The Office


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Cavite
January 23rd 2017
Published: January 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It is my first week in the Philippines office and what an experience it has been. Our office is located in Cavite. It is about an hour ride from our apartments in Manila. We meet our van at 8 PM every night to get to work for 9 PM. We work 9 PM to 6 AM. The Philippines does not recognize daylight savings time. So right now we are 13 hours ahead of the US. Therefore we have to work 9 to 6 to be working 8 to 5 in the US. My first day in the office everyone was super nice. I have a little desk that they made a welcome sign on. The sign helps me find my desk. The office is just rows and rows and rows of desks so if I had to find my desk with out the sign the first day it would have been a little tough. I sit next to my ISSAs Faith and Abi. Faith and Abi both support my team. The day flew by with not too much excitement.



On day two, the excitement began. I was at lunch with a group of coworkers and was offered a lot of food. It is rude to say no to food, so I tried fish soup (not very good), bitter gourd (fine), and pigs blood (actually didn't taste horrible but it's hard getting behind eating blood). When we got back to our desks after lunch, we learned that a cat had fallen through the ceiling in the office near my desk. She looked pregnant and definitely was not too happy to be there. They tried to get her into a box but she ran right past them through the whole office. It took around ten minutes before they caught her.



Day three is coming to an end. Today I tried fried pork, squid, and some other dish that I have no clue what it was. We do a lap around the building during lunch and a big coach roach ran right by my feet. I was just happy it didn't fly at me. I also am still sick. I think I might have a sinus infection. And I woke up this morning with my eyes completely bloodshot. I looked scary! I went to the nurse in the office and she put some drops in which helped. I might have to go to the pharmacy today to see if I can get some medicine.



Two more days and then it's the weekend! A group of about ten of us are going to an island for two nights. I believe its an hour and a half car ride then an hour boat ride. Should be very fun!

Advertisement



26th January 2017

So interesting
Your daily life is fascinating to me, especially the foods you are trying. Love the blog. Keep writing! Love you!
28th January 2017

HI
Good to hear all is going well for you, hope you are feeling better and enjoying your weekend adventure!
29th January 2017

Pork???
I can't believe you are eating pork. I guess when in Rome....
6th February 2017

weak stomach
Good for you, Liv, on all levels! Impressed by your daring to try new foods...your journey is a joy to hear about. Feel better! xo

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb