Hello Tarsiers!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bohol
August 24th 2012
Published: October 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A close encounter with the small ones.

Sizes vary among all living organisms. Mammoths are too large as well as elephants and microorganisms are very minute that an observer requires the aid of a microscope to identify and characterize its structure. However, ther are some animals that are as well small but can be handed by a 5 year old girl's fist. It is known as the Tarsier. This endemic species is found only in Bohol, Philippines.

It was last month when I started planning on what to do by August 2012. I had an itchy feeling of going somewhere I can best enjoy with the grandeur of nature. My peers whom I would be going with are plannig on a Cebu tour, but I and my friend Melanie insisted on droping off to Bohol. And so we did.

It was after the small rainforest shower when we arrived at the location around 4 in the aftenoon. Too tired to walk around the area and listen to them conversing about the location, I started to take off. We were not allowed as well to make any sounds nor produce any flashes from our good and too convenient digital cameras. And so I turned it off.

Then just when I was about to scan my eyes in the forest, I was amazed when I saw them on the twig. Clinging and just purring out their eyes on me. They were very very small and yes too small to be handed. They would never fit in my hand. They are so cute that they even turn their heads to where sound is heard. I took a photo with them and it took me great effort on not to make any boisterous sound because of my dashing experience. I was told they were very sensitive. I almost choked on not to giggle at that moment.

With this experience I hope I could return to seeing those small creatures in the forest. I believe their number is decreasing since they are taken in captive for presevation goals of the government.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb