Baguio


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Baguio
January 24th 2007
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

24 January
It's the famous resort city of Baguio, high up in the mountains of central Luzon. I felt at home here in some ways, since I grew up in the hills of east Kentucky, and traveled often to the mountains of southwestern West Virginia, where my Mom's family is from. The weather was not as cool as I was anticipating. Not extremely hot though. Ronnie and I took a horseback tour of some of the city outskirts, guided by a 17 year old boy named Carmon. We saw the homes of Philippine Vice President Noli de Castro, and one of most affluent Filippino businessmen, Lucia Tan. He is the owner of Philippine Airlines.

There is a huge 4 story mall in Baguio. We took our lunch there at the food court, and walked around to see some of the modern shops. But when it came time to buy some souveniers, we went to one of the open markets in town. I have to remember that what I buy, I have to carry. I just picked up a few t-shirts this time. When I reach Cebu, perhaps I will find some unique Filippino things to take back home.

While in Baguio, Tito Joe took us to meet some of his relatives. Meeting family members and feeling their warm, sincere welcome, is indeed a highlight to this cultural vacation.

More to follow later, when we go south to Pangasinan, and the region of 100 Islands! Can't wait.
Bruce

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb