Mt Beautiful aka Mayon Volcano


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Albay » Guinobatan
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jeepney LoadJeepney LoadJeepney Load

I know I said I didn't want to post cliched Jeepney pics, but check out the way this one is loaded with people. It's raining to boot
Well folks - I've done it, I have 'touched' Mayon. Last major eruption was this time last year.

We went up the side to an elevation of about 820 metres above sea level (summit is something like 2.5km I think) and this is as far as the car could go. The scenery from up there is breathtaking ;-) . I think we're going to revisit when the weather improves.

For the Micks reading this, they actually have the stations of the cross up the side of the mountain and this is walked and prayed by the faithful during Holy Week in the lead up to Easter.

For those of you with Google earth, I have included the link to a kml file you can download which traces the drive back from Mayon to our home base in Guinobatan

Mayon kml

Hopefully this has fixed the link


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The view from Mayon The view from Mayon
The view from Mayon

Guess we'll have to come back huh . . . . .
The Sixth Station of the CrossThe Sixth Station of the Cross
The Sixth Station of the Cross

If memoory serves me correctly - it's the one where Veronica wipes the face of Jesus . . . . . (OK OK I Googled it)
It's a dog's lifeIt's a dog's life
It's a dog's life

Max just doesn't know how good he has it.
cf Max's Lifecf Max's Life
cf Max's Life

I know which country I'd rather be a dog in. . . . .


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb