Quetta - Tafton


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
January 23rd 2006
Published: February 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Enroute to Tafton from QuettaEnroute to Tafton from QuettaEnroute to Tafton from Quetta

People on the floor having dinner....the guy seated in front was my neighbour in the bus...
Quetta - Tafton

The bus was supposed to leave at 4pm but it finally did at 5pm. I guess I was a part of the delay as I had to go back to the exchange place and come back.

The bus had rice or floor bags on the floor and everyone walked over it. I guess this is how they conserve space in the baggage area. I had sufficient space and since I had an aisle seat I managed to put my legs out, the guy next to me, I am so glad I wasn’t there he was all cramped up.

There was insufficient light to read, pretty bored. We had one piss stop and then a dinner stop. The dinner stop was quite cool, you go inside this building and everyone is seated on the floor and eating. It was a very pretty cloudless night and the stars looked beautiful. I keep regretting not having a SLR camera to take these pictures. It’s almost impossible to a shot with the Olympus even with a long shutter exposure. The stars just don’t appear in it.

The ride was not fast because we were either climbing or going
Tafton BorderTafton BorderTafton Border

The Tafton border area is an extremely dry deserted area...Drug smuggling is quite popular although I didn't see anything dodgy...
downhill and both directions were slow. I slept but kept waking up every now and then.

We finally arrived at Tafton at 5:45am. We were dropped at this restaurant which allowed us to hang around till morning. The border opens at 9am. I had to use the toilet and oh mi gosh it was one hell of a horrible toilet. For a minute I was wondering if they had decided to put concrete to close the hole. Later only I found out that it wasn’t quite concrete.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Me and the Tafton BorderMe and the Tafton Border
Me and the Tafton Border

The Tafton border has a beautiful landscape with mountains all over....
Tafton border busesTafton border buses
Tafton border buses

Buses parked at the border area.....


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb