Lively fireworks!


Advertisement
Pakistan's flag
Asia » Pakistan » Islamabad
July 7th 2007
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is very different to my previous travels as I was met at the airport and ferried by taxi to the very posh hotel in Islamambad where I'm staying, which thankfully has air conditioning as it's scorching outside.

There was a wedding reception on last night, so I thought the pops and bangs as I went to sleep were their fireworks. However, when I could still hear them this morning I realised that they were in fact gun fire from the adjacent area where the red mosque seige is taking place! I think I'll avoid sightseeing around that area...

Instead I've been shopping in the Supermarket area of Islamabad where there are numerous stalls selling everything very cheaply; antibiotics cost me about $3 (no pound sign on this keyboard), an electrical adaptor cost me 25p, two tops cost $3 each, as did a pair of cotton trousers - why did I bring all that posh trekking gear I wonder?

So, off to repack my bags again ready for the trek. Had a bit of a fiasco at Heathrow, but luckily since I'd arrived 4 hours before scheduled take off there was no queue at check-in, which is just as well as I had to do several repacks to get my bags through, and then I had to carry my down jacket (with books in it's pocket) and wear two jumpers around my waist to go through customs as the check-in lady had told me they would only allow me 6kg for hand luggage and mine weighed nearer 10! After all that no-one even looked at my bag or tried to weigh it. Have just bought a wooden souvenir, so I will definitely need to post things home before the next flight.

Anyway, back to the cool hotel now to see if it's up market enough to have a swimming pool - might as well enjoy the last bit of luxury for 3 weeks! Will meet the others on the trek this evening...



Advertisement



7th July 2007

Glad you got there safely, airports are such a pain these days. Shame you are next to the Mosque battle. Weather been attrocious here, but some sun today. Enjoy your trek, bye for now. Bob
8th July 2007

Hope it's cooler in the mountains!
Enjoy your tekking Helen - Look forward to your next update. We're having an addition to the family!!! That'll get you thinking!
9th July 2007

Hope your fellow travellers keep you happy. Look forward to more updates. take care. xxC
11th July 2007

great to hear your news
Dan and I are just in heathrow waiting to fly home from our london theatre trip, was great and managed to meet up withJeremy from skiing for lunch and then a dance. Big aberdeen dance weekenkd coming up, Barry is working ere this weekend so is staying for the saat night do, and Bob is going to, plus dan so should have plenlty men to dance with! Lots of love, keep the news coming love Lynda
11th July 2007

News from Proteus!
Hi, great to hear from you. Glad to hear someone else got stopped for handluggage crimes apart from me. I nagged Anna and her freinds about the weight of all their hold luggage on the Post GCSE trip to the barn only to get stopped with my 'little' wheelie bag for being 3 kg overweight. I had to distribute most of my camera gear into the 'girlie' handbags! You have just missed a flying visit from Ian, over on business from Brisbane. He literally stopped over Saturday night, whereupon we had a great reunion with Pete/Sal. They are still looking to returnto the Uk if possible but the jobs in the marine design industry are just not coming up. They expect expect their second baby in Oct too, and Ruth is keen to be amongst family-even tho they seem to be scattered across Europe these days! Summer camps have just started so the evenings are as busy as the days. It has finally stopped raining here but it isn't exactly warm yet. Chris is raving it up in Tenerife with 11 other lads, but we haven't heard from him as he managed to lose his mobile phone on the first day. Rang and spoke to the Dales last w/end who are in fine form, they have just been holidaying on New Caldonia, an idyllic island somewhere near them, it sounded very much like a Thai destination-memories! Keep well and keep us posted Sue
11th July 2007

Good - she's really gone. Let's party....
OK - so you think you're living on the edge. Try navigating a herd of rush hour cows in the depths of Wiltshire. And as for your 'wooden souvenir'- I have no idea what popped into other readers minds when they read your blog but I hope they are purer of mind than I...! To serious talk at last - you're there, you're off and I envy you (sort of). Hope the trek proper goes well- but stay cautious and safe Helen.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb