ABC Trekking Day #10 "Back to 'Civilisation' "


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
November 22nd 2012
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 27.7029, 85.3182

Last day on the trail. Some good panorama views of the Himalaya Range. Back in Pokhara we tried to book me a flight back to Kathmandu. But too pricey. Then the hotel shuttle driver said his brother is driving one of those local micro buses on the Pokhara-Kathmandu route. Packed my bag und said goodbye to Francis, Bunu and Tulsi. Officially those micro buses have seats for 16 people. But here they cramp a lot more people and bags in. In our case we were 22 plus 1 baby! With extra furniture on the roof! Along the way we were hailed down by two anxious soldiers who apparently were left behind by their truck and hung onto our micro bus until we caught up with their gang. Crazy 😉 Sometimes it seemed all few remaining traffic rules were completely disregarded when the road became so bad that everyone drove in any direction where there was room enough. Insane and funny at the same time 😉 6 scary hours later (at times only inches away from the abyss) we arrived in smoggy Kathmandu and they dropped me off in the middle of the night saying just walk 2Miles in this direction to Thamel, where my hotel is. Well, it didn't end up being that far and some locals showed me the way while we passed people sitting around fires burning trash. Luckily 'cause I had no clue where I was 😉

Letzter Wandertag. Mit einigen guten Panorama Aussichten auf das Himalaja Gebirge. Zurrueck in Pokhara versuchten wir einen Flug nach Kathmandu fuer mich zu buchen. War aber zu teuer. Dann meinte der Hotelshuttle Fahrer, dass sein Bruder einen Microbus auf der Pokhara-Kathmandu Route faehrt. Packte schnell meinen Rucksack und sagte Francis, Bunu und Tulsi Auf Wiedersehen. Offiziell haben diese Mikrobusse Sitze fuer 16 Personen. Aber hier packen sie natuerlich mehr Leute und Taschen rein. In unserem Fall waren es 22 plus 1 Baby! Mit extra Moebel auf dem Dach! Unterwegs wurden wir angehalten von zwei aufgeregten Soldaten, die offensichtlich von ihrem Truppentransporter zurrueckgelassen wurden. Sie hingen sich kurzerhand aussen an unseren Microbus bis wir deren Fahrzeug eingeholt hatten. Verrueckt! 😉
Manchmal wurden selbst die paar verbliebenen Verkehrsgesetze voellig ignoriert, wenn der Strassenzustand so schlecht wurde, dass jeder sich seinen eigenen Weg suchte, egal in welcher Richtung. Komplettes Chaos. Verrueckt und lustig zugleich 😉 Sechs angstschweisstreibende Stunden spaeter (manchmal nur Zentimeter vom Abgrund entfernt) erreichten wir die Luftverschmutzungshauptstadt Kathmandu. Dort wurde ich irgendwo nachts abgesetzt mit dem Hinweis, dass ich nur 3km in diese Richtung nach Thamel laufen brauche, wo mein Hotel lag. Aber am Ende war es nicht ganz so weit und ein paar Einheimische zeigten mir den Weg, vorbei an Leuten die um Feuer herum sassen in denen sie Muell verbrannten. Sie brachten mich sogar bis zum Hotel, da ich keine Ahnung hatte, wo ich war 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb