Mom & Dad, You Might Wanna Skip This Entry ;)


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
November 9th 2012
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 27.7029, 85.3182

8 AM the night is over. The never ending honking down on the street increases dramatically around that time. You wouldn't even hear your alarm clock 😉
Got up, had breakfast at Helen's Cafe on the 8th floor patio and started my search for some options for Trekking in the Himalayas. After some time I found a tour operator I liked (TrekNepal) and booked a 10-Day Trek to the Annapurna base camp, starting from Pokhara.
Right away me and the sales manager got along pretty well since we both used to work as tourguides. And he invited me to go with him to a concert in Old Town Kathmandu later in the evening. Good thing my parents were not around because we took his motorcycle and drove without helmets through the crazy nightly rush hour traffic, which you have to experience to believe it... Then he showed me one of those hole-in-the-wall local eating places where you get delicious food for a fraction of the prices at tourist places. Damn good dinner for 3$ for both of us! After that we went to the concert of the Nepalese band "1974 AD" surrounded by century old temples and had a blast. After driving back to Thamel we had a couple more beers at Tom & Jerry's.

8 Uhr morgens, die Nacht ist vorbei. Das nie endende Hupen unten auf der Strasse wird um diese Zeit deutlich penetranter. Man hoert selbst den eigenen Wecker nicht mehr 😉
Also, aufgestanden und zum Fruehstueck in Helen's Cafe oben im 8. Stock auf der Dachterasse. Danach startete ich meine Suche nach Trekkingtouren im Himalaja. Nach ein paar Stunden fand ich einen Reiseveranstalter den ich mochte (TrekNepal) und buchte einen 10-Tage Trek zum Annapurna Basis Camp, von Pokhara aus. Der Verkaufsmanager und ich verstanden uns gleich ziemlich gut da wir beide frueher als Reisefuehrer gearbeitet haben. Und so kam es, dass ich fuer den Abend zu einem Konzert der nepalesischen Band "1974 AD" eingeladen wurde, in der ein Freund von ihm spielte. Nur gut dass mich meine Eltern nicht sahen als wir ohne Helm mit seinem Motorrad durch den chaotisch-abenteuerlichen Feierabendverkehr in die Altstadt fuhren. Dort brachte er mich zu einem dieser versteckten Kellerlokale wo man leckeres Essen fuer einen Bruchteil der Preise in den Touristenrestaurants bekommt. Zwei exzellente Abendessen fuer 3$! Danach gingen wir zum Konzert, umgeben von jahrhundertealten Tempeln. Zurrueck in Thamel gingen wir noch fuer ein paar Bier zu "Tom & Jerry's".


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb