Bhaktapur-June 19


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
June 20th 2014
Published: June 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We departed for Bhaktapur early Thursday morning. It is east of Kathmandu-about a 30 minute drive. It is one of the 3 royal cities in the Kathmandu Valley and is filled with amazing local life and intricate, ancient temples. Dr. Arielle was our tour guide around the temples. His hobby is to transcribe the writings on temples, statues and art. He was full of knowledge. His knowledge ranged from resources of ancient people, he knew the story of the gods, weathering affects on temples, and every purpose and desire that went into to making each temple. After he took us on a mini tour of the area we were given a solo assignment. I spent an hour and a half roaming the Bhaktapur area looking for earth processes in a human impacted area. My tattoos have given me an opportunities to talk with locals. On my personal walk about I was approached by a few locals. They were art students and who were quite impressed with the level of artistic talents in America. All young people that have approached me about my tattoos are sincere and kind and it is great to have an excuse to talk to them and hear their stories.

Our night ended with a US embassy reception at the SIT center. I rubbed elbows with foreign diplomats and discussed geohazards of Nepal with local experts and the people in charge of making sure this is important to law makers. This was not a night I expected to have. This program has amazed me with great opportunities-and it's only the first week!

oh and.

I forgot my hat and my forehead got burned and I'm sweaty every second of the day. I cannot wait to get up to the mountains!

-C



I will not have the internet for the next...month ISH

I hope you read and comment. or email so I have some friendly notes to come back to after our three week trek to Kali Gandaki Valley and surrounding areas- where there are holes for toilets, untreated water and lots and lots of amazing Himalayan geology!!!

I will do my best to keep track of my adventures so I can report back to you next month!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb