hurry up and wait


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

A word on airports. Usually a place full of continuous commotion- people coming and going (some walking casually to get to their destination, others running franticly), announcers trying to pronounce, rather butcher, names of travelers in need of seeing the attendant at the podium for some kind of pertinent information, the roar of planes taking off and landing in the background...that is, until the airport empties. It doesn't close down for the night(even though 99% of the employees are done for the day), but it definitely empties quickly. However, there is always the occational announcement to keep track of your bags, a security guard or two strolling down the empty terminal, janitors cleaning bathrooms and shining floors, and the few travelers, like myself, who are stuck spending the night in the airport.

So here I am, in JFK International Airport, with a 12-hr layover. I arrive at 11pm, I meander around after retrieving my backpack that can't be checked all the way through to Kathmandu, and decide it's best to at least attempt getting some sleep. My choices of beds are limited. The cold concrete floor, or the uncomfortable metal chair without a headrest? I choose the floor. I dose in and out of a light sleep for a few hours, no thanks to the annoyingly loud announcements going on every 15 min or so, and finally am poked by a security guard telling me I can't stay there. I proceed to wander aimlessly around until at last it's 4:00am. Thanks to my kind, thoughtful sister-in-law, I am able to enter the world of the elite traveler with a complimentary pass to...the WorldClub! A secret getaway with mood lighting, big comfy leather chairs, classical music playing in the background, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the runways, free food, free wi-fi, and your own personal cubicle to watch TV/sleep with no one to bother you!

I'm going to catch some zzz's now, maybe I'll treat myself to a "custom-ordered" omelete prepared by the Club chef in a few hours...THANK YOU SARA!
Next entry will hopefully be from Nepal! Love to you all. Peace.

Advertisement



23rd September 2008

Yay for leather chairs
Glad the WorldClub pass worked out! Enjoy some well-deserved Zzzzz...

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb