Uncertainty


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
August 30th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have booked an agency to help me get into Tibet. Apparently the new rules and regulations require that I use an agency that has been approved by the Chinese government. I have received conflicting reports in the past week that some of these agencies are quite good. Others are not so good and travellers have been left stranded. I have already purchased an airline ticket to Lhasa so I have my fingers crossed that everything will be OK.

I also heard today that the Dalai Lama is ill and was hospitalised. Most likely exhaustion, given his incredibly hectic schedule. I am looking forward to seeing Tibet and am curious about just how much control Beijing has over the region. According to what I have read, there are restrictions on the monks in the Buddhist monasteries and also restrictions on where they can travel. I don't know how much contact outsiders will be allowed to have with local Tibetans or whether my 'guide' will be at my side constantly, making sure I am 'safe' and not wandering too far off the beaten path.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb