Kathmandu - Sanga


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi!
in kathamndu - tomorrow at 6am go to the mountains where it is one hour walk to internet access and told it is very bad.
so this is going to be quick!

The Vol organisation are really looking after us - have been taking nepali classes for 3 days - and i can converse - knowing a bit of Hindi is a definite advantage.

The first day we were taken around two large Buddhist and Hindu temple. A the Hindu temple you have to walk through a maze to get blessed by the priest. And in the yard area. there is a huge gold plated cow - all within the confines of the temple. There are also over 500 little temples surrounding the main temple each with shivalingas inside. The guide taught us about Hinduism and Shiva in particular which most Nepalis worship.

Yesterday it was our hill village experience - an hour bus fromKath. Called Sanga - the bus was an experience itself - think i swallowed a kilo of dust!!

Then we hiked up a steep hill and they took Rachael (other volunteer) and I to the first house. We had to stay in different houses. We got there - and the guide said - so which one of you wants to stay here. Me and Rach just looked at eachother and said we didnt mind. Then the man in the house said something in Nepali and the guide said Ruby you stay here. The guide took me to the room (which was very comfortable) and then I left my bag etc. The man smirked - I started to fear the worst - why didn't i just speak out and say Racheal you stay here?!!!

We then took Rachael to her house (a 2 minute walk up the hill), and hers seemed so much nicer, especially when the guide told me there were no kids in my house!!! I was really getting nervous.

But in the end I am so glad i stayed in my house. It turned out that the man's brother and his family lived next door and they shared a yard. The house is on a ridge cut into the hill. The views are just amazing, and it's so peaceful. We could see all the hills and mountains surrounding Kathmandu. I thought I would walk to Rachael's house (one minute up the hill) but when I came back to my house to get my head torch (there is no electricity from 3pm - 9pm) I just stayed in the yard and a little girl called Deepa came to me, talking in English and Hindi. She lived in the next door house. She and her brother were talking to me and they were so sweet,. so well behaved. Shetold me about her life - they wake up at 5 am, sift through rice, tend to the goats and cows, then Amma goes to the farm and Dad ogoes to work.. She told me she wants to be a pilot or doctor and asked me if I could take her to my country. I said of course, as long as she promises to study. She promised. We exchanged addresses. She was just adoreable. I'll post some pics.

These children have so little but are so happy - just her smile in the morning with the views cheered me up. I soon forgot about the toilet(hole in the ground, seeing everyone's exrements!!). Actually this is quite gross: I always breathe with my mouth because the putrid strong urine smell just nauseates me. Anyway, all last night I was getting urine burps!!! Gross, but I wouldnt swap this experience with anything - the people, even the man (who i later realised wasnt leary, but just friendly) are sooo warm, similar to the people at my Dad;s village - actually the kitchen facilities were identical to the ones my Dad uses.

So tonight I'm going for a meal with the Vols then we are off to Langtang where I begin my placements. I am so excited - it's a ten hour bus ride then a 4 hour hike up a steep hill. This is when the reall fun begins!!!

Lots of love, thinking about you all

PS sorry cant post pics now - it's unbelieveably slow and people are waiting for me.

Advertisement



25th April 2007

Great stuff
Hey Rubes Glad things are working out for you... sounds all very exciting. Got back today. It's turning in to an exciting adveture for you... now Lang Thang is such a cool name! take care and keep us updated. Loons x

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb