The final chapter of India...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This blog has become a little bit of my diary so I am trying to make an effort to keep up to date. So in a year from now I can remember where I was, with all the feeling, smells, colours, smiles, tears, sounds and longing to go back.

We miss India deeply! Nepal is another chapter but I should write about the last three weeks in India.

I think I left off in Pushkar when Eneko and I arrived. We found ourselves a beautiful Shanti room at the lotus on the lake in Pushkar. To our wonderful surprise there was some Arambol family there as well so we felt quite at home. We had many 'missions" to do in Pushkar. Eneko had many beautiful gems to make into jewellery and of course he used my help to design etc. We took eachother's hands and jumped head first into jewellery designing with five different jewellers. Some were rather 'shifty" and one was amazing! This pushed and pulled our relationship together, and no matter how stressful it got somehow we manage to not bite eachother's heads off! After a few days of this I deceided I was in desperate need of yoga.

Jennifir and I found our wonderful "yogesh" and jumped into 5hours a day for a 6 day yoga course! We learned how to do neti and reach forms of tantric meditation. Was this EVER mind blowing! He taught us a wonderful yoga routine that we can bring home to canada. And now the head stand is totally mastered.

Between the time of making jewelleryand yoga, we made time for a beautiful three hour camel ride into the dessert. Our two little guides were Shaker and Mogoli- about 10 years old each of them! The dessert was amazing. It felt like we were riding back in time out there. So shanti shanti. We asked Shaker if he could take us to his village to meet his family. Off we went running on our camels (needless to say my backwas very sore after all of that running) to meet his wonderful family. His father was recovering from a bike accident from smoking too much charras and was at home getting better. All of the lovely10 children crawling all over me while Eneko talked to the father. Shaker's mother served us a wonderul chai while she was covered in sparkling saree and bangles... That was one of my most beautiful moments in India playing with those children and being in an India home.

To end our time in Pushkar Eneko and I hiked up to the Shiva temple to see the sunset. Some beautiful meditation and loving moments were shared. There are many beautiful memories of Pushkar, my favorite laughing Sadu, and yes the monkeys, the lotus, yoga, colours, gypsy dancing, and all the feelings that move through your heart with all these experiences. I will aways remember the feeling...

Leaving Pushkar meant we were closer to our time ending together. Eneko and I spent out time in Delhi mostly at the dentist. We found a very professional woman who did some major work on Eneko....I think her quote was "Eneko look at Kimberly's teeth, this is such a pleasure" hheheheh... thank you mom for nagging at me all those years to keep my teeth clean. It payed off in the end! I had three fillings and myteeth cleaned for $50CDN! What a deal. I want to come back to India very soon to travel again, but if not it's worth it just for the dentist.

I almost forgot to write about my experience of getting passport pictures. I went to have my pictures taken and the man deceided to take advantage of me since the door was closed and grabed my breasts...I tell you when this happens your brain takes a second to figure out what is really going on. But when I did figure out what was happening I had a rage that tore out of my body. I yelled and then came back with Eneko. I think Eneko was scared of my anger and let me yell some more angry words and make the man feel like a total pervert. I think the effect of having the woman making the scene with her man only standing beside her had a rather large effect on the pervert. I let all of my anger come out and after I shook and even cried. Alas another experience...

The last day was spent hiding inside as the holy festival was happening on the streets. This is where every gets drunk and throws toxic paint on eachtoher that stains your clothes! Ummm no thank you. I was going through a bout of Giardhea (yes round number 4 of sickness) so the last place I wanted to be was far from a toilet. I took some Ayurvedic medicine and I think the bug tore out of me rather fast! My levels of sickness and tolerance have drastically changed!
The last evening Eneko gave Jenifir and I a poi lesson on the rooftop as the sun was going down. The poi is amazing for our coordination and movement so I'm excited to have my own pair to playwith and practice practice practice. I love the movement, it's so fluid and gracious.

Leaving Delhi was one of the most difficult things that heart has had to do in a long time. To leave my love story and the most beautiful country brought tears to my eyes. We smoked some bidis with the rickshaw driver on the way to the airport and said our goodbyes to the lovely motherland of India.

Now we are in total shock in Kathmandu. It's soooo different here, the people and culture. The people are almost more agressive than India, we got totally mobed at the airport, crazier than anywhere in India! However, we discovered that Nepali hash is quite nice to relax in the evening!
So finding our mountain gear and out to Lantang I am going alone and Jennifir is off to Pushkar to meet a friend from home to do the Annapurna. The mountains will bring allot of writing and poi practicing and some good reflecting time. We are both looking forward to this.
with much love~namaste

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb