Three train journeys in one day....heading to Sonauli Border


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Sonauli
September 2nd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

When I arrived in Amritsar Junction, it was already dark and quiet. The train station seems to be almost falling asleep. I got into a tuktuk and asked driver to take me to the temple. I had almost thirty minutes to reach the main entrance.

The Golden Temple is a beautiful place on earth specially when the temple is having its all the lights on. I have to admit that I had a strange feeling in my mind when I began to step into the premises but having noticed such a lovely welcoming atmosphere like no other religious place of worship I've been to, I felt comfortable and safe.

The following bit is even more interesting. They provide free food for all - 24 hours a day a round up service and the food is really delicious!

All these meals were prepared in massive pots according to the experts chefs. Everyone sits down on strips of carpet, hold out their plates and gets food- and within 15 minutes a sitting of almost 500 people is done - including the cleaning up afterwards! That's absolutely outstanding service no where you can expect.

Anyone can stay at the temple - I can stay completely free of charge. When I found out this, my tutuk driver was not very pleased. He started to tell me about pick pocketing and stealing all all sort of things. I just ignored him. To be honest, I found most people were so friendly and warm.

I took a tiny place on the cleanest spot of a giant marble and began to close my eyes. I might have been so tired, I fell asleep soon. It was early in the morning, we were woken up for teas. I hurried to get my breakfast and a couple of photos before gathering of visitors.

My next train is leaving in an hour. Where am I going next from New Delhi? The second ticket says....

Train No 0402 LKO SHTBDI SPL NEW DELHI 15:20 LUCKNOW NR 2:50

and the third ticket says....

Train No 5016 Lucknow to Gorakhpur express, leaves Lucknow at 17:10 hrs

This train stops at Khalilabad, Basti, Gonda and Barabanki are the main towns on the way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb