Holiday's nepali style


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Nagarkot
September 1st 2007
Published: September 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday was the festival of Janaai Purima, this is a festival for the high caste Hindu (Brahman- which is the caste the family I am staying with is in). This is the day the men change their janaai or thread necklace they wear and everyone else (including me!) receives a protection cord from the Brahman priest, it is a yellow thread tied around you wrist. I had also bought tikas for the girls to wear on that day in Bhaktaphur. Of course they wanted me to wear one too, so I complied...knowing full well I looked more like an extra in a Gwen Stafani video than a Nepal celebrating the holiday. Sujata, Pradeep and Rosana (their 7 year old cousin) walked an hour to Masadeb Pokhari, where there were sets of 4 drumming men in various places and their was a pond where they made offerings (mostly flowers and corn) and some of the small boys swam in the pond.

I also saw some of my "students" there, as well as a teacher I work with and some other people from the village. I am sure I am easy to spot, just look for the white girl with the tan cap. I saw about 6 other tourists the whole day. We then walked another hour to Nargorkot, where Pradip was such I wanted to hike up five flights of extra stairs to see a great view. I appreciated the sentiment. I am also noticing, he never gets winded...On up hill hikes he will often ask, "are you tired?" Lately, I just joke with him and say "no! Are you?" We went to eat and Nargarkot and I was happy that the food took forever, because I got a long rest. It was also the first restaurant I went to that was playing American music, including 50 cent, "In the club", Tupac's "California Love", Eve, and Gwen Stefani.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb