Monkey Temple in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
May 4th 2015
Published: May 7th 2015
Edit Blog Post

prayer flagsprayer flagsprayer flags

at Monket temple
Sos halted a taxi and we both jumped in and it was off to the Monkey Temple. I had asked what was the most popular thing to see in Kathmandu other than Thamel and this was it. By the time we got there it was around 4:30 and all the vendors were packing up to leave. Right away I spotted a monkey in the street and when we got to the entrance they were sitting on the buildings, the stairs, etc...many of them just running around and not bothering anyone. I had to pay $2 to get in because I am a tourist and the people from Nepal get in free. When we walked in I noticed right away the prayer flags hanging in the air above the temple. Nepal is famous for pictures with the parry flags from this temple and from another Buddist one I will visit soon. There were monkeys eating something off the ground I I got pictures with them. Entering into to upstairs area there is a huge payer wheel with many small prayer wheels around it. There are little areas have metal screening in front of them and some have chains and locks. One was opened and there was someone in there handing out prayer beads and giving blessings. The buildings, like all the temples in Nepal , are wood and carved intricately. There is an area that has their rendition to tomb stones. Also a building you go into pay but it is closed because we got here too late. We walked up the stairs following a monk and at the top the view is wonderful and there are a lot of monkeys there. Looking down over the city you can see the roof of one of the buildings on the grounds that is covered with monkeys! When we left there we rode in the taxi to a small building that housed the biggest prayer wheel I have ever seen! My pictures of it are blurry because Sos had the camera! Then we went back to town and I spotted a large shopping mall. We got out of the taxi and went looking for shoes. I needed new shoes because I had left most of mine in Thailand. We found a pair for $5 and Sos asked me to buy a top for her that was $3. The mall we were in was large and 3 stories high. There is an escalator in the center that isn't working. No food court or even one place to eat there. We started walking down the street because the rain had slowed down. Caught another taxi back to the bar. Taxis are only $2-$5 to go just about anywhere. Always ask when you get in what the price will be. They run on a flat rate.








Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb