Househunting


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm tired. and I think my throat is sorer than it should be. I am going to start wearing a mask soon to protect my poor lungs from the dust. Thankgod I work outside of KTM and in Bhaktapur, I will be able to avoid pollution for a large part of my week. We me the other ayads last night. They are all pretty cool. Loadshedding is quite annoying, it seems they have no schedule at the moment, they just decide to turn off the power when they feel like it. I feel like I have been here for 4 weeks (when it's really only been 4 days!). Crossing the street is quite a fun experience, you just walk and the traffic goes around you. If you stood on the side of the road waiting fo a clear in traffic, you would never get tothe other side of the road (it's that bad!!). Cows are often seen in the middle of the street and if you hit one its a $25000 fine or life in jail. Crazy!!! The nepalis also seem to have an unhealthy fetish with business cards. I first experienced this on the plane to KTM - a Nepali man behind me asked what I was doing n Nepal and I explained that I would be working in Bhaktapur. He works fr the Agricultural DPtment in Bhaktapur, so naturally that was enough for him to give me his card. I now have a phone and mailing address which is great. Its all on my facebook. Send me letters or call me!!! Remember I'm 5 hours behind Brisbane. Sorry my updates aren't all that great but I'm exhausted!

x

Advertisement



2nd March 2009

Lizzie!!
Hey Liz!! Good to know you've arrived safe and sound. Will get your number off FB at an opportune moment. Nepal sounds a lot like India...I've been here a month and it feels like I've been here a year! Are you staying in Kathmandu or Bhaktapur? Will call you later in the week... Much love :) PS: EVERYONE in india has a business card...even the auto-rickshaw drivers!! I think I've gathered about 10-15 so far :P

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb