My home for the next two months!!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

ThamelThamelThamel

One of the many busy streets in Thamel.
So I've made it to Kathmandu and I still can't believe this will be my home for the next two months! There is no way I will leave this place the same person. The city is something different from anything I have ever experienced before... the streets are crowded and the cars constantly honking.. it is a completely disorganized way of living but its amazing!! I can't get over how well it seems to work for everyone here! I arrived early enough that there was time to take a tour and I got a good glimpse of what my life will be like in the near future. I can't wait until Im comfortable strolling the busy streets on my own without the fear of being hit by one of the wild drivers or being talked into buying everything in site! It's cheap but I'll be going broke pretty quickly if I don't improve my bargaining skills! I also need to learn the language... a lot of people speak at least a bit of English but I think I'll feel a lot more comfortable out in the streets if I know even a bit of Nepalise! It's surreal being here! Im glad
Everest?Everest?Everest?

The view flying into Nepal!!
I have a week to get used to everything before I start my placement.. I think Id be scared into hiding if I was dumped here alone. I'll keep you posted how everything goes!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

NepalNepal
Nepal

Again from the plane.


Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb