Bloodshed and be merry


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 10th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Dashain!

Yesterday was the ninth day of Dashain festival here which means there was lots of killing with equal amounts of joy. Just in Kathmandu Durbar Square alone, a compacted area of religious temples and hundreds of tourists, there was a public sacrifice showing of about 100 goats, 10 bison, and countless ducks. I chose not to participate in the viewing of bloodshed and am happy with my decision as seeing and smelling the aftermath is plenty enough cultural experience for me. However, I joined the director of the orphanage's family at their home, along with the remaining 10 kids that didn't return to their homes to celebrate the festival. There I was invited to partake in the "tika" ceremony, where the elders of the household bless everyone younger by throwing marigold flower petals on the head, placing a red paste-like rice concauction (tika) on the forehead, and giving a small amount of money to wish happiness and health( money donation, maybe a wish for wealth?) for the upcoming year. Apparently I was the talk of the party because usually when the tika is placed on the forehead and dries, it falls off, or at least part of it does. Of course mine remained on for the entire afternoon in which I contributed to the fact that is was stuck in my hair and eyebrows, but everyone else was insistent that it was a sign that I had an abundance of luck and happiness in my life. Uh, yeah...I think I like their reasoning better!

Tomorrow I will be out of contact with all of you, and for that matter most of the rest of the world, for a week as I am attending a yoga/meditation course at Ananda Yoga Center. I'm not quite sure what it all entails, but for those of who are intrigued, here's a rough daily routine I will have:
5:30- wake
6-7- village walk and meditation
7-8- vegetarian meal, clean up
8-11- yoga movements
11-12 meditation
12-1 eat lunch, more daal bhaat i'm assuming
2-4 more yoga and meditation
4-6 FREE TIME
6-7 more meditation
8- SLEEP

yes, you're right, only two meals....oh man, I'm gonna be hungry next week! wish me luck.

love to you all. peace. Kendra





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb