Simply Happy


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 5th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dust in my eyes, nasal drip into my throat, and an unsettling feeling in my gut that comes and goes, these have become minute annoyences that may have bothered me two weeks ago, but now I am redirected to focus on the many beautiful aspects of this amazing place. I am becoming more and more familiar with my surroundings as each day passes, and am beginning to enjoy the endless chaos and madness that is Kathmandu.

The next 15 days marks one of Nepal's most important festivals of the year, Dashain. People travel many miles to reunite with families, businesses close, roadways empty, and the constant eating begins. I am told that a sacrifice of a goat, buffalo, or chicken takes place around the third day and the blood of the animal is scattered over cars, buses, any form of transportation vehicle, to ensure safety on the roads for the year to come. I have been invited to the homes of friends from the orphanage and even homes of strangers I meet on the street. I believe they want to stuff me with as much dhaal baat and other various foods as I am able to handle, or for that matter, not handle.

Most of the children at the orphanage have returned to visit with their families for the festival, whether it may be only 10 minutes away to the city, or 200 miles away to a village somewhere in the country. There are a few remaining behind, so the orphanage does not close, and thus, I am not thrown out on the streets for the next 2 weeks! However, my friend Kate has arrived and I hope to spend some quality time with someone who speaks english, has been here a few times, knows her way around, and speaks Nepali...well better than me at least. We were able to view a screening of the vice-presidential debates (well, parts of it due to the infamous power outages here)held by a group called Democrats Abroad on Sat. evening. Yesterday we enjoyed an adventurous walk from her place of residence for the next year to where I am staying. Supposedly only a 45 min leisurely stroll, it turned into a 4 hour, sweaty, sunburnt, blistered hike. No complaints though, I thoroughly enjoyed her company and am excited to know that I have a good friend to receive advice from in any time of need for the next 2 months.

I am trying to put up pictures of the past 2 weeks but am finding it difficult on these cyber cafe computers that appear to be at least 5 years old. I hope this message finds everyone well and happy. I am excited to read various comments and messages that are sent. Thank you, it means a lot. Namaste and Happy Dashain!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th October 2008

my famous cousin
Hi from Texas, it's your cousin Bree. I hope you don't mind, but I've shared your blogs and adventures with some of my friends who are like me stuck behind their desks with our day to day boring jobs!!! You are famous!!! Really, Kendra...I couldn't be more proud of you! How are you eating anything? That's what would freak me out! You are so brave!!! I hope you are having the time of your life...keep it up because there is no rush to start life as we all know it...you are doing what most only dream about doing! Love, Bree
10th October 2008

Namaste!
Hi Kendra! I love reading your blog and looking at your pictures. It appears that you are having a wonderful time! I'm excited to hear more as your adventures continue! Love from MN, Katie H

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb