First Impressions


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I finally arrived in Kathmandu and I'm super excited to be here. I ended up being about 3 hours later than expected, but that wasn't much of a surprise. The last part of my journey wasn't too bad though because I was randomly upgraded to Executive Class so I was able to do 2 hours of waiting in the lounge, which was well equipped with couches and free food. Had some tasty cashew samosas and an hour long nap. The flight was pretty comfortable too so it was a nice way to end off the long trip. So here are some of the first impressions of this place (yes they are very preliminary). Traffic in Kathmandu is crazy. I guess I wasn't too surprised by it but it's always fun to experience it again. They drive on the left side of the road here but honestly, other than that, there are no real rules to the road. Drive as close to the cars beside you as possible, don't leave any spaces between you and the car ahead, honk your horn as frequently as possible and try not to hit anyone. The city is quite densely populated so there are constantly people outside at night. We sleep with the windows open because it is too hot to close them but that just means that we can clearly hear everyone outside and the constant honking and the dogs that never stop barking. I was super tired last night so I slept easily so we'll see how the next little while goes. That's basically it. I'm going to be venturing out into the city a bit today with a couple of other people (don't worry, the others have all been here for a few weeks so they'll be good guides). The orientation doesn't start until Saturday so I have a few more days to just relax and explore and organize things that I will be needing. Anyway, there isn't really much new or interesting yet, just that I arrived. Hopefully future posts will have more sustenance in them and then, of course, there will eventually be pictures.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb