I've finally made it


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
August 27th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kathmandu valleyKathmandu valleyKathmandu valley

from the airplane. Not a bad view considering it's monsoon season.
I left New Delhi Monday afternoon for Kathmandu not really knowing what was in store for me. After just 2 days Delhi had wiped me out and I was still struggling with jet lag. Most of all the heat and humidity was punishing (the day I left the temperature was 94 degrees farenheit with 92% humidity).

Just before landing in Kathmandu I was provided with some beautiful views of the surrounding land (See pic). The Kathmandu valley is absolutely stunning- you're surrounded 360 degrees by lush green mountains. As soon as I touched down I felt something different in the air- mainly that it was much cooler and less humid, and also how relaxed things were.

I rode to the guesthouse barely fitting in the front seat and realized how much shorter people were here. When I got there I met an amazing family- Neema and Pemba Sherpa. THis husband and wife own a beautiful 4 story house on the east side of the city in a residential neighborhood with zero tourists. I was blown away by how nice my room, bathroom and balcony were. I guess I won't have to rough it while i'm here. I get a
ping pong nepali styleping pong nepali styleping pong nepali style

instead of net, they use bricks. this actually makes a lot of sense.
home cooked breakfast and dinner every day, which is great.

My volunteering at the Tilganga eye hospital began yesterday. Surprisingly, it is quite a well run operation and pretty state of the art- which i was not expecting. I've gotten to see some pretty neat things, and meet many Nepalis. They love to smile, speak english, and insist on buying me food whenever we chat. They say that's just how it's done. They serve a free lunch for all the staff in a mess hall- much like what i've seen in the movies. It's actually pretty tasty.

I've rented a bike and checked out the tourist area of the city yesterday- Thamel. I'd give it a thumbs down. it's horribly crowded, full of smog and loud cars, but does have a lot of good shopping, internet, banks, etc. I saw the movie Half Nelson last night with some Aussies I met at Tilganga, and then rode back last night about 20 mins.. only getting lost a couple times.

I talked with a local college student here for an hour this afternoon on my lunch break. She told me about many interesting things here- how everyone works 6
vegetable marketvegetable marketvegetable market

there is a market right in the center of the tourist section (Thamel) within the traffic circle. The women spread out there veggies on mats as traffic swirls around. crazy. i almost ran over a zucchini on my bike.
days a week, but takes many tea breaks during the day. how religious, but tolerant the people are. the political situation. how close knit families are and how the children live with their parents until they are married.

What i'm enjoying the most right now is being immersed in Nepali culture through food, talking with the locals, and being at the eye hospital. This next week will likely be pretty chill. till next blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

nepali reading cardnepali reading card
nepali reading card

thought this was cool. this is used to test patient's near vision.


Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.045s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb