First few days in Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
March 27th 2008
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone hope you are well. If any of you dont want to be part of this email list just let me know 😊

Well im in Kathmandu now. Had a good trip over. Stopover in Bangkok was good and I got to go exploring in the city. Turning up in Kathmandu was interesting as there was no one to meet me at the airport. I had heaps of people pestering me for taxi rides and others trying to help (i think) but I wasnt sure who to trust. Anyway I found out the hotel had forgotten to pick me up so I had to taxi there myself. Hotel is very basic but apparently one of the best here in Kathmandu.

Kathmandu is amazing. There are so many cars and it seems like there are no traffic laws. People all over the place and so many stalls and people and I saw a cow and some goats on the street!

Got to meet Kellie and Jim who I well be working with and they seem lovely. We went out for dinner last night and had a Nepalise set menu - all sorts of goodies- was very different and very tasty. Only problem is Jim is sick today - poor thing.

Anyway Kellie and I went exploring about Kathmandu. You can pretty much walk anywhere. Bit scarey at times as all the soliders have guns, beggers, and people always trying to help you then expecting money. Anyway Kellie and I had a good morning. We found our way to the Monkey temple. It was great - a temple at the top of a steep hill, beautiful architecture and lots of stalls and of course monkeys just hanging around right beside you. Now we are back at the Hotel and about to go check out the swimming pool then we are going to go over details about the work we are going to do.

We leave for Everest on the 30th of this month. Josy ill check out all the sights for when you get here!! Off to Dunbar Square tomorrow which is apparently very beautiful with lots of temples again.

Hope you are all happy and well and this email is mainly to say im alive and well and enjoying myself heaps

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb