Nepalis in Santa hats


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu
December 24th 2007
Published: December 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

new flatnew flatnew flat

my kitchen/dining area
I feel better today. I had a good, long cry yesterday, read some of my book on happiness by the Dalai Lama, and felt a lot better afterwards. The internet guys finally showed up late in the afternoon and hooked up the expensive satellite internet, which is actually faster than the cable, so I don’t care about the price. And using Skype is much better with this connection, so talking to my parents and brother was not the usual chore. I also got a new refrigerator thanks to my landlord, so now my food won’t be frozen every time I go for it. It ended up being a pretty good day in the end. And my stomach is feeling better, so I guess it was just the spicy veggies. But every time things get a little wary in my digestive system I have visions of various bacteria and parasites multiplying in my colon.

Today I had to get out of the house. It’s very cold, and I can’t really get much work done bundled up under blankets and several layers. So I headed to a place I knew would have heat—the Radisson. But first I stopped to watch a demonstration
new flatnew flatnew flat

my living room
of the Nepal United Front, or something. The signs written in English said something about India staying out of their business. There were also lots of red banners with the communist sickle.

All of the servers here at The Fun Café in the Radisson are wearing santa hats, which I find hysterical. I wonder if they even know the meaning of Chirstmas. Of course this hotel, and probably most of the major ones, is decorated for Christmas. I was greeted by a big gingerbread house on the way in, and Christmas carols are being piped in through the radio. I guess I won’t escape Christmas afterall this year. But at least I don’t have to hear all about last minute shopping strategies on every TV station. I did receive a 50 Rs discount when I bought the complete seasons of 6 Feet Under today (in Chinese packaging), so I can’t complain.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

new flatnew flat
new flat

my bedroom (with the world's most uncomfortable bed)
new flatnew flat
new flat

the view of the neighborhood from my roof (on clear days like this one you can see the Himalayas)
pujapuja
puja

Sangeeta and The Colonel doing puja on the patio


Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0771s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb