Bon Voyage England


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
March 3rd 2011
Published: March 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Dont ask me how I got all of this.....
Hello Everyone

Its a cold frosty 07:40am, 3rd March and today's the day I head out to Nepal to start my travels! I fly out at 14:00 to Kathmandu via Doha and I need to be at Manchester 3 hours in advance, so I will set out at 09:00. No time like the present to quickly write a travel blog, or be it, no time when last minute!

So the bags are packed and all well under the weight limit for the flight, something my mother just cant understand "oh when I go away for a week its heavier", so she's trying to give me all the little extra things "just in case". Well for those of you who don't know, I'll be going away indefinitely, going to Nepal, South East Asia and then Australia. From there I don't yet have any plans on what I might do.

So I am sure you're wondering how I am feeling right now? Well honestly, quite relaxed, though right now it is the calm before the storm, that and I did all the worrying last night. However I am sure this will all change when I get going and the adrenaline
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Into that!
will kick in.
On one hand, I have been really nervous, I will be delving into a world of change and unfamiliarity, different languages and different cultures. Yet on the other hand I am exited. I will be starting my adventure and I am look forward to seeing the ever smiling, honest and most generous people of Nepal I have heard and read so much about! I have said my good bye's and I feel ready for the journey.

I will keep you all posted, when I get there

And if I could give any packing tips to other travellers, it would be Elastic bands and Dry Bags. Have a look at the photos....

And before I finish, I would like to thank all my sponsors: the Royal bank of Mum, Mum and all my frends and family for giving me the support and the means to make this journey happen. Thank you.

Bon Voyage!

Chris







Advertisement



3rd March 2011

Trip of a lifetime
I'm very jealous Chris, this will be the trip of a lifetime for you. There will be good and bad bits no doubt, but you'll soon forget the bad bits and the good memories will be with you forever. Have a fantastic time. Looking forward to following your blog :-)
3rd March 2011

Bon Voyage
I really do hope that you get the chance on a regular basis to keep this blog up to date Chris, as I still can't come to terms with the FACT that your gone.... it is a sad day and its a shame we never really got to say a proper goodbye the other day, but as you said "that's how men do it". I will make sure I check this blog everytime I start my computer, as its now my homepage, yes I love you that much. Regarding the nerves you might of been feeling, I'm pretty sure that was the x amount of Tequila/Sambuka we consumed coming back for revenge! But I guess as Im sitting here your on the flight, so if there is to be any proper nerves your probably getting them making everyone around you also pretty nervous on the plane! Will keep this short and I await your reply from the other side, safe travels! Still can't beleive Ive lost my mate of ten years!
4th March 2011

Bon Voyage
Just wishing you all the best Chris on your incredible adventure; if only I had had the bottle to do this when I was your age, but in those days a trip to Greece was as far as we tended to go, or the really brave went overland to India. Look forward to reading your blog, and ..do keep in touch with your Mum, as I know she'll be Missing You Already! Enjoy yourself!! Val
4th March 2011

Great start
Anyone who can pack a bag like you, deserves success in everything! So excited for you. Happy travelling.x
5th March 2011

Goodluck
God cant believe the time has come for you, i will say i will definatly miss you! and im sure you will have the energy for this trip! Be sure to update this blog as i have subcribed it now, so you best use it LOL :P !!!! Me and ryan would love to hear everything you do out there! Best of luck chris! WE ALL MISS YOU ALREADY!!! CANT WAIT FOR YOUR RETURN XD xxx From Becky and Ryan xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb