30 hours, 5 cities, and four airplane "meals" later...


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I left from Vancouver at 1:30 am on October 6th. I had layovers in Taipai, Hong Kong, and Bangkok before finaly getting to Kathmandu late last night. My last plane (Bangkok to Kathmandu) was VERY delayed. The flight was with Royal Nepal Airlines which, since arriving, I have heard many people discourage. No wonder it was so cheap! Even if the planes aren't the most reliable, they had a very unique atmosphere complete with mountain scene wall paper, a very nice touch. Anyway, because my flight was so delayed the person who was meant to meet me at the airport was long gone. So I shared a cab with a group from Israel. We managed to cram five people into a cab designed for three and made our way to Thamel. The great thing about trafic in Nepal is that there doesn't seem to be a single rule as to which side of the road one is supposed to drive. You simply aim for open space, wherever you can find it. The streets in the city are packed with not only people, cabs and rickshaws but also dogs (as well as the occasional cow). But the dogs are everywhere, especially puppies. They are the cutest things, it's too bad about the rabies...

Today I met a Nepalese man who is going to Montreal at Christmas. He asked me a billion questions about Canada which I answered as best I could. Although when I told him I lived on the other side of the country I don't think he understood how far that was. In return for my "help", he gave me a ride to the Monkey Temple on the back of his motorcycle. It was a crazy ride, dodging people and dogs and cars. It was lots of fun and a great way to see the city.

The Monkey temple was beautiful, and it lived up to it's name. I'll try to post the pictures soon!



Advertisement



9th October 2008

sigh
I am living vicariously through you Molly. Tim and I will do these travels some day, and i hope you have the time of your life. Well done!

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb