Exploring Kathmandu


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
September 22nd 2007
Published: August 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kathmandu Street MarketsKathmandu Street MarketsKathmandu Street Markets

Street vendors sell spices
Words like life, character and energy push their way to my consciousness as I focus my efforts towards absorbing the controlled disorder of Kathmandu being hammered at all 5 of my senses at once. Relaxing holiday? Nope. Less than an hour into my first trip to a third-world country and I was hardly expecting it to so outrageously redefine my perspective of life.

Finding my feet quick smart, for fear of being bowled over by one of many motorcyclists rushing through crowded narrow streets, it isn't long before I'm approached by a talented musician. He's playing a small, strange-looking strung instrument which reminds me of a violin but sounds more like a screeching fiddle. I stand there slightly mystified but politely listening to him play while I decide on the most acceptable way to excuse myself from the situation. He assists me by revealing his intention, "yours for 800 Rupee." Thank you.

Before hitting the streets this morning, I took time to study a crowded sign post, somewhat of a resemblance to a contemporary pine tree, positioned outside the main entrance of The Kathmandu Guesthouse in central Thamel, my accommodation for the night. I savoured the information on one 'branch' pointing in the direction of Mt Everest, only 250km away, and continued on my way.

My newly-found wanderlust for culture discovery draws me further and further from my accommodation, the only point of familiarity. An attempt to match a drawing of connecting squiggly lines on the back of my 'Wel Come to Kathmandu Guesthouse' brochure, ordinarily referred to as a map when street names are present, with the narrow streets in Thamel which are in competition to have the biggest advertising sign, the busiest shop front, the most colourful merchandise and it isnt long before I am more conscious of becoming lost in the midst of everything.

There is no way to fully convey the passion that lies at the heart of bustling Kathmandu. I find myself leaning towards 'simple' as a vein attempt to keep my head on whenever I try to. Simple in a dramatically-complicated and unique-refreshing way. Life in Kathmandu is simply simple.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pashupatinath TemplePashupatinath Temple
Pashupatinath Temple

Nepalis prepare fro a cremation
Thamel, KathmanduThamel, Kathmandu
Thamel, Kathmandu

Heavily decorated streets in the Thamel area


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb