Arrival in Thamel


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, July 24, 2007 at 2:40pm

Well, I bloody made it, can you believe it? With only my amazing common sense and razor sharp wit as my guides, I have arrived in one piece! Have booked into a little hotel in Thamel for the night, then shall start the long journey to Chitwan tomorrow morning.

This place is amazing- what a culture shock though. Everything in the city is just buzzing, and everyone is so friendly and helpful. They don't really seem to understand the concept of a woman travelling alone though... they keep asking "where your husband?" I'm bored of explaining that in England, it is ok to let women off the leash every now and again- its completely alien to them that at my age, I haven't been sold to a man for a buffalo and the head of a fine goat.

So the wierdest thing so far has got to be the cows just wandering down the streets and eating out of rubbish bins... And I actually saw a monkey just walking around eating peanuts. No-one even noticed him- and I just wanted to shout "Wow! look! A monkey! Look everyone!!! You can't just walk down the street like that, you should be in a zoo!" But I don't think anyone else was as excited by the discovery as me...

So I have spent most of today just wandering around exploring- Its actually amazing what a good sense of direction I have when I need it. I have been taking photos of the streets I walk down so that I can find my way back- see, I'm clever me. I have also been drinking copious amounts of Nepali tea, which is like, amazing! I am going to have to bring back SACK loads of it.

Hope everyone is ok back home, I am missing you all lots. Its very odd being so completely alone in a REALLY foreign country, but I'm not scared at all. Its all so exciting and different, I just don't have time to be scared. I seem to be talking to myself a LOT though- and I have discovered that I am actually great company!

Take care all,

Jxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb