The First Bit


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
April 16th 2008
Published: April 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,
Well the internet sucks a bit here so I hope that this will be a more efficient way of keeping in touch instead of Facebook (which not everyone is on) and email, which is hard to make sure I am hitting everyone who wants to keep in touch. So I thought a blog is better so you can check on your own. I will still update facebook as well and will likely put pictures up on both.

This is going to be short because Becky just wrote a really long blog then it didn't post so that really sucks so I don't want to waste my time when I am already tired and can't trust the internet. I have already spent most of the money from my internet time waiting for pages to load...grrr....the joys of Nepalese internet!

So we were in Singapore for a couple of days and it was hot and humid, and it was a very modern city, with good amenities, and pretty much north american prices for things. We stayed at a great little hostel and saw the zoo, some temples in Little India and Chinatown and drove around in the back of a little alchamino inspired vehicle...no mom, no seat belts! We were very jet-lagged and continue to be plagued by it a bit, but are finally starting to relax and unwind.

We arrived in Nepal yesterday and what a shock compared to Singapore. Nepal is a VERY poor country, and there was no doubt about it when we took the "taxi" from the airport. I write it in quotations because that is a loose term for a small, very old, worn out vehcile with no seatbelts, barely enough room for all our stuff, and some serious exhaust and likely CO2 fumes. There were cows just int he middle of the road, and Becky and I nervously looked at each other as our cabbie bobbed and weaved through the mayheim. It was part of the adventure (which is my key phrase for interesting times)....never mind the totally unreliable power and water which sometimes works, and sometimes scalds you, and sometimes nothing comes out...very interesting place for sure.

Oh shoot, my internet time is almost up. I will write more next time. Love to you all,
Chocacarla!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb