1 Month Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamel
July 30th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi there,
my first Blog was lost due to a server lack, so I've to rewrite everything now from Kovalam ( India ).


I arived on the 9th of Juli after a 3 day delay in Kathmandu. On the first day I saw the famous monkey temple and just admired the incredible view over the Kathmandu Valley. Next day I went to Kathmandu's Durbar Square and to Boddnath Stupa where I saw some monks drawing Tankas ( a special Mandala with spirutal significance ) Some of the golden ones take up to 3 Month to finish and are quite expensive.

2 Days later I went Rafting with some other travellers. This Rafting thing wasn't as much adrenalin kicking as I thought but it was a thing to enjoy anyway coz of the astonishing scenery.
We slept in Chitwan and spend the next dayith a Jungle Walk, a boat trip and Elephant Riding.

Back in Kathmandu I headed to Pokhara and stopped in Bandipur. a peaceful village up in the hills. During the monsoon time it's a cloudy and greenish spot where I stayed for 3 more days just to chill. The people seem to live centuries ago with a special tradition.


From Pokhara I started a 7-day trekking around the Anna Purna Base Camp Trek. I actually didn't hike up to the basecamp due to the clouds and the rain. I was attacked by leeches and got some scars which I still have ( 20th August ) But the scenery was simply embrasssing. There was so much water flowing down the treks and the living Green was just overwhelming.

Back in Pokhara I went the next day to Kathmandu and spend 3 days waiting for my departure to India. On the way to the border I stopped in Lumbini the birthplace of Buddha. A lot of Buddism communities errected monastries around the Lumbini Develpoment area. The Thai and the Korean Ones are simply the best!!!!

For me, Nepal is one of the world's most beautiful countries with a changing scenery from wild Jungle to greenalleys with rivers to extraordinary mountain views. I will definetly return to Nepal!!!!!!!!

Bye Nepal


From Gorakpur India, I took the 40hour Express train to Chennai where I met 2 friends from Germany.


My South India Blog is here:












Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb