How many ways do you know to kill a mosquito?


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
May 26th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Tibet-induced good karma and Buddhist concepts of respecting all life forms now come with certain exclusions: mosquitoes and Japanese tourists. I'm not sure how many places a mossie can hide in a hotel room but mine is certainly playing a great game of hide during the day and seek during the middle of the night. The pre-bed ritual involves a hop/scour round for the afore-mentioned beast, and every day I come to the conclusion that he/she has finally popped her clogs and I will sleep in peace. Not a chance. At 2 am sharp every day I awake to a buzzing in my ear, pull the covers over, realise I am suffocating,then switch the light on to see it disappearing out of reach. Light goes out and buzzing re-occurs. Like a game really but amusement factor now wearing very thin. Any mosquito-zapping hints appreciated dear reader.Guess I could always hit the insectide but seems too easy . Japanese tourists also exempt because, goes without saying really- they're Japanese, queue jump and take too many photos!

Great news!! Increased mobility today and escaped from Colditz! Met up with my Everest group today to hear their news. Turns out one of them summittted but nearly died in the process and has now given away all his climbing gear, vowing never to climb again. Of the other 2, one reached top camp at 8,300 metres then realised he was too exhausted to make the summit and back; the other made the summit ridge and realised too that today was not the day to die. Apparently it is just so incredibly tough, lonely, harsh and scary up there and there is too much death in the air. I saw their video clip taken at 7,700 metres and it was awesome but they are taking one step then resting before taking another, like old men, yet they are incredibly fit (so they tell me!!! lol!). Now back in Kathmandu they are engaged in a smoking and drinking frenzy after the stresses of the past few weeks, in fact we ended up drinking Bloody Marys at breakfast so they are an EXTREMELY bad influence- puts my usual peppermint tea to shame!!!!!!!Hopefully will be able to post some 'before' and 'after' photos shortly ( when the guy opposite me stops hogging the computer with the working CD drive!)

Out with Matt the paramedic ( rum ball grumpy slave) tonight - he's just back from 2 days in Pokara where he ended up in a fracas with the police after a mentally retarded guy tried to touch him up then called all his mates when he defended himself. Life is soooooooooo exciting here I know all the goss!

Yesterday went to hosp and saw an orthopaedic surgeon. Suspected torn ligament but hopefully fit to move on in 1-2 weeks. Just had an email from India telling me they eat injured female tourists for supper so will stay put here until I'm strong enough to avoid being dinner table fodder. Saw a guy at the clinic with 2 feet bandaged up so heavily he looked like an injury from a cartoon . Turns out it was another summitteer. They're all hobbling in now with their tales and I am loving it!!!!

Still hearing a few stories about unrest on the streets of Kathmandu, burning vehicles and traffic protests but could be a million miles away for all we see........

Catch you later! xxx

Advertisement



26th May 2006

This is the funniest yet!
Where do you think it all up from, Sal? This blog has had me in fits. More of this stuff please. You should be writing sit coms, books, or in journalism - you are wasted in Medicine! Lol xxx
31st May 2006

Hi Sal, got on your blog for the first time today expecting a few lines not a bloody novel - still, changed a couple of names, ignored your copyright bull...t and i,ve now got a publisher interested in Toby's Travel Adventure. There's a lot of things I'd like to comment on but reckon I should keep it clean as it sounds like everyone is reading this - so haven't got too much to say. We,re off to Mark Warner in a few weeks so dont worry I'll send your love to Mustapha who still tells all the guests stories of your topless dentistry around the pool. Anyway Sal glad to hear you're in one piece and having fun Toby x
1st June 2006

Still keeping Mark Warner in business??!!
Toby Hammond!Typical bloody man on a typical male time schedule! Don't worry I've only been away 3 months and now you pop your head up and say 'hi!'. If you've found some more work for me in Turkey I'll catch my flight and be on my way!I'm sure your MW bar stories will make a better Mills and Boon bestseller than mine. In the meantime I've heard reports that my car is missing its normal gastronomical treats of you shoving your home-made rock cakes up its exhaust ........
8th June 2006

Scarey Spice.......
Helloooo!! Long time no speak. Glad you are enjoying- don't know whether even Nic had read it though!! How's Phil getting on? ( you can email me on that one- Nic has my travel email) . Things get better- am now living in a monastery ( VERY INTERESTING!!!)- Will update all shortly. Sister mad dog mo xx

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb